Vodacom Cup

Cat-fight in Vodacom final

2013-05-15 13:26
Vodacom Cup logo (File)
Cape Town - Will the Pumas be crowned as the eighth Vodacom Cup champions in Nelspruit, or will the Golden Lions set themselves apart as the most successful team in the 16-year history of this competition?

These questions will be answered at the Mbombela Stadium on Friday evening when the Pumas host the Golden Lions in the Vodacom Cup final, which kicks off at 19:10.

For the team from Mpumalanga, this is new ground - they have never played in a Vodacom Cup final before. Prior to this season, their best performance was reaching the semi-finals in 2007 and 2012. On both occasions they lost, but last weekend, the Pumas ensured they will host the final by beating the EP Kings at home.

Jimmy Stonehouse’s team has been very consistent all season. They lost only once in the pool phase and finished as the top team in the North Section. Their victories included good wins in Pretoria over the Blue Bulls and in Kimberley over Griquas.

Ironically, their only defeat came at the hands of the Golden Lions in Round Six. By that stage of the competition, Johan Ackermann’s team were with their backs against the wall and any defeat would have spelled the end of their campaign in 2012.

The Golden Lions started the season very badly and lost three of their first four encounters. They turned things around and have been on a good winning sequence, recording five consecutive wins en route to the final.

The Pumas have selected an unchanged team for the second consecutive week.

Ackermann also opted for consistency and made just one change to the team that beat Western Province in last weekend’s semi-final. Jaco Kriel is back at the side of the scrum after recuperating from a knee injury. He will partner Warwick Tecklenburg at flank, with Willie Britz moving to the bench.

Only seven teams have won the Vodacom Cup - Griquas and the Golden Lions (four times each), the Blue Bulls (three), Western Province, Free State, Falcons and the Pampas XV from Argentina (once each).

Vodacom Cup final:

Pumas v Golden Lions
Date: Friday, May 19 2012
Kick-off: 19:10
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant referees: Rasta Rasivhenge and Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee


Pumas: Coenie van Wyk, JW Bell, Wilmaure Louw, Stefan Watermeyer, Rosco Speckman, Carl Bezuidenhout, Faf de Klerk, Renaldo Bothma, Jaco Bouwer, Corné Steenkamp (captain), Eduan van der Walt, Uzair Cassiem, Ivann Espag, Frankie Herne, Vincent Koch.

Substitutes: Jacques Momberg, Corné Fourie, DeJay Terblanche, Marius Coetzer, RW Kember, Jerome Pretorius, Dewald Pretorius.

Golden Lions: Chrysander Botha, Deon Helberg, Deon van Rensburg, Alwyn Hollenbach, Anthony Volmink, Marnitz Boshoff, Michael Bondesio, Warren Whiteley (captain), Warwick Tecklenburg, Jaco Kriel, Hugo Kloppers, Hendrik Roodt, Ruan Dreyer, Robbie Coetzee, Jacques van Rooyen.

Substitutes: Francois du Toit, Van Zyl Botha, JJ Breet, Willie Britz, Ross Cronjé, Lionel Cronjé, Dylan Des Fountain.

Road to the final:

Round 1 (9 March)
Pumas beat Falcons 62-0 (Nelspruit)
Golden Lions beat Leopards XV 45-15 (Johannesburg)

Round 2 (15/16 March)
Pumas beat Blue Bulls 44-42 (Pretoria)
Golden Lions lost to Falcons 22-27 (Kempton Park)

Round 3 (23 March)
Pumas beat Down Griffons 64-7 (Nelspruit)
Golden Lions lost to Blue Bulls 26-54 (Johannesburg)

Round 4 (5 April)
Pumas beat Griquas 47-31 (Kimberley)
Golden Lions lost to Griffons 19-30 (Welkom)

Round 5 (12/13 April)

Pumas beat Limpopo Blue Bulls 154-0 (Nelspruit)
Golden Lions beat Griquas 24-11 (Johannesburg)

Round 6 (19 April)

Golden Lions beat Pumas 23-14 (Nelspruit)

Round 7 (26/27 April)
Pumas beat Leopards XV 29-28 (Potchefstroom)
Golden Lions beat Limpopo Blue Bulls 161-3 (Alberton)

Quarter-finals (3 May)

Pumas beat Pampas XV 44-37 (Nelspruit)
Golden Lions beat Sharks XV 42-25 (Durban)

Semi-finals (10/11 May)

Pumas beat EP Kings 39-13 (Nelspruit)
Golden Lions beat Western Province 44-25 (Johannesburg)

Vodacom Cup final results:

1998: Griquas beat Golden Lions 57-0
1999: Golden Lions beat Griquas 73-7
2000: Free State XV beat Griquas 44-24
2001: Blue Bulls beat Boland Kavaliers 42-24
2002: Golden Lions beat Blue Bulls 54-38
2003: Golden Lions beat Blue Bulls 26-17
2004: Golden Lions beat Blue Bulls 35-16
2005: Griquas beat Leopards 27-25
2006: Falcons beat Sharks XV 25-17
2007: Griquas beat Blue Bulls 33-29
2008: Blue Bulls beat Free State XV 25-21
2009: Griquas beat Blue Bulls 28-19
2010: Blue Bulls beat Free State XV 31-29
2011: Pampas XV beat Blue Bulls 14-9
2012: Western Province beat GWK Griquas 20-18

Read more on:    golden lions  |  pumas  |  vodacom cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS

Who would you like to see start in the No 10 jersey for the Springboks at next year's Rugby World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.