Varsity Shield

UWC get off to winning start

2016-02-01 21:59
Rugby ball (File)

Cape Town - The University of the Western Cape (UWC) have won their opening match of the Varsity Shield in a closely fought encounter against Fort Hare.

UWC outscored their opponents by three tries to one with captain Philbrey Joseph crossing the whitewash twice, once in each half and replacement Jason Marcus touching down just before the final whistle.

Fort Hare grabbed a converted try of their own through Asiphe Fihla but they were never quite in touch with the visitors from the Cape although they did manage to grab a bonus point for losing by less than seven points. 


Fort Hare 8

UWC 15


Fort Hare: 15 Akhona Matutu, 14 Aziyena Mandaba, 13 Luyolo Batshise, 12 Athiphila Mlotywa, 11 Asiphe Fihla, 10 Siviwe Bisset, 9 Qhama Masiza, 8 Philisani Ncoko, 7 Zanoxolo Qwele (captain), 6 Siphesihle Phunguzwa, 5 Lwando Ntetha, 4 Sibusiso Sityebi, 3 Olwethu Mputla, 2 Mzingabantu Vitsha, 1 Lusindiso Nkomo.

16 Justin Antonie, 17 Lukho Jongizulu, 18 Athenkosi Makeleni, 19 Malusi Vula, 20 Alandre Sias, 21 Misubukhosi Pieenar, 22 Ntsika Kula, 23 Lulamile Kama.

UWC: 15 Marcus Kleinbooi, 14 Byron Burgess, 13 Courtney Cupido, 12 Ruan Mostert, 11 Wilbre van Wyk, 10 Aubrey Wana, 9 Matthew Nortje, 8 Darren Luiters, 7 Jose Julies, 6 Philbrey Joseph (captain), 5 Matthew le Roux, 4 Brandon Valentyn, 3 Tahriq Allen, 2 Brandon-Lee Beukman, 1 Wayron Losper.

16 Peter Wanjiru, 17 Kelvin de Bruyn, 18 Alwyn Carstens, 19 Matthew Faught, 20 Jason Marcus, 21 Minenhle Mthethwa, 22 Dean Herbert, 23 Keenan Douw.

Read more on:    varsity shield  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Shield?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.