Varsity Shield

UKZN grab late win over Wits

2016-02-01 20:20
Rugby ball

Cape Town - A try in the final minute gave the defending champion UKZN-Impi a come from behind 26-18 victory over Wits in the first game of the 2016 Varsity Shield played at a packed Peter Booysen Sports Park in Pietermaritzburg.

Wits started the stronger side, scoring an early unconverted try through Thato Marulbela for a 5-0 lead.

Curwin Bosch cut the deficit with a long-range penalty to bring the home side back into the match.

UKZN then grabbed the lead with an excellent try after a clever grubber by wing Thobekani Bhuthelezi allowed Jaywinn Juries to score in the corner.

Bosch converted and the hosts were in front for the first time in the match. 

Visitors Wits were soon back onto the attack and were rewarded with an unconverted try after CJ Conradie crossed the whitewash to level the scores at 10-10 at half-time.

In the second half, Wits extended their lead with another converted try through Constant Beckerling and seemed to be building an important lead at 18-10. 

UKZN had other ideas however, first scoring through Michael Meyer before substitute Tristan Blewett cut through the visitors defence to score the winning try on the stroke of full-time. 



Wits 18

Scoring system

Penalty/Drop Kick - 2 points

Conversion - 3 points

Try - 5 points


UKZN-Impi: 15 Morne Joubert, 14 S'busiso Nkosi, 13 Grant Rattray, 12 Alwayno Visagie, 11 Thobekani Bhuthelezi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaywinn Juries, 8 Adam Wessels, 7 Zwela Zondi, 6 Kerron van Vuuren, 5 Jean Droste, 4 Rikus Zwart, 3 Ntandoyenkosi Mpofana, 2 Mikyle Webster (captain), 1 John-Hubert Meyer.

16 Elrich Konkowski, 17 Andrew Acton, 18 Christiaan van der Merwe, 19 Michael Meyer, 20 Langelihle Shange, 21 Tristan Tedder, 22 Tristan Blewett, 23 Lindokuhle Radebe.

Wits: 15 AJ van Blerk, 14 Kwanele Ngema, 13 Joshua Jarvis, 12 Wade Worthington, 11 Thato Marubela, 10 Warren Gilbert, 9 Luxolo Ntsepe, 8 Aya Mdudi, 7 Connor Brocksmidt, 6 Ruan MacDonald (captain), 5 Rhynou Herbst, 4 Graham Logan, 3 Luvuyo Papuma, 2 CJ Conradie,1 Tijde Visser.

16 Craig Hume, 17 Ameer Williams, 18 Mitchell Fraser, 19 Constant Beckerling, 20 Ruan Cloete, 21 Kyle Weseman, 22 Sicelo Champion, 23 Brandon Palmer.

Read more on:    varsity shield  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Shield?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.