Varsity Cup

Varsity Cup announces expansion

2016-01-25 18:01
Varsity Cup (File)

Cape Town - One of the exciting announcements to emerge from the launch of the 2016 season of the Varsity Cup on Monday was that in 2017 three universities will join the existing 13 universities currently taking part in Varsity Rugby.

“When Varsity Cup began in 2008, eight universities were competing,” said Varsity Cup chairperson, Jurie Roux.

“Then in 2011 we added the Varsity Shield and it grew by five. Next year there will be 16 universities taking part in Varsity Rugby. The competition is becoming more and more inclusive and to have increased the university participation by 100% in under 10 years is phenomenal.”

The Varsity Cup and Varsity Shield competitions are managed by a board of members who will hold a meeting in May 2016 to decide upon a qualification process, whereafter the three additional universities will be announced.

The three new teams will join the Varsity Shield, while one Varsity Shield team will be promoted to the Varsity Cup, joining the eight existing teams.

“We are extremely excited about this next chapter of Varsity Rugby,” said Varsity Cup CEO Duitser Bosman.

“The inclusion of nine teams in Varsity Cup will allow each team to play four home and four away matches. In addition to that, each team can look forward to one bye week in the competition - a luxury they weren’t afforded in the past.”

Previously the teams’ seven matches were split between four home matches and three away, or three home matches and four away - alternating from season to season.

The inclusion of seven Varsity Shield teams in 2017 will allow each team to play six matches.

Promotion and relegation matches will be played again in 2018 for the 2019 season.

The 2016 Varsity Rugby season kicks off on February 1, 2016 with the first round of Varsity Shield matches taking place.

Read more on:    varsity shield  |  varsity cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Monday, 26 February 2018
Wits v Maties, Wits Rugby Stadium 16:45
NMU Madibaz v NWU-Pukke, NMMU Stadium 18:30
UCT Ikeys v UP-Tuks, UCT Rugby Fields 18:30
Shimlas v UJ, Shimla Park 19:00
Monday, 05 March 2018
UP-Tuks v NWU-Pukke, Tuks Stadium 16:45
CUT v Wits, CUT Stadium 18:30
UJ v NMU Madibaz, UJ Stadium 18:30
Maties v UCT Ikeys, Danie Craven Stadium 19:00
Monday, 12 March 2018
Wits v UJ, Wits Rugby Stadium 16:45
CUT v UP-Tuks, CUT Stadium 18:30
NMU Madibaz v Maties, NMMU Stadium 18:30
NWU-Pukke v Shimlas, Fanie du Toit Stadium 19:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.