Varsity Cup

UJ make light work of Shimlas

2016-03-22 07:06
Caswell Khoza (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The scoreline flatters the Shimlas, who were convincingly outplayed 72-49 by UJ at the FNB Stadium in Soweto on Monday night.

The students from Johannesburg were looking to turn around their poor performance of last week and they did so with aplomb against the defending Varsity Cup champions from Bloemfontein.

It was an evenly matched first 10 minutes, but then Shimlas broke through to break the deadlock through try-scoring machine Mosolwa Mafuma. It was a nine-point try converted, and Shimlas led 11-0.

But a penalty followed by a nine-point try of their own by UJ, through Divan Nel, put the Johannesburg side ahead 14-11. A seven-point try by David Antoites put UJ 23-11 up after 18 minutes. Another UJ try by Ronald Brown after 28 minutes furthered their lead to 32-11.

UJ scored a nine-point try to move to 43-11, before Shimlas finally got one back. A seven-point try by Arthur Williams pulled the scores back to 43-20.

Although Shimlas managed a seven-point try through Stephan Janse van Rensburg, the UJ steam train was rolling on full steam ahead. The men in orange scored seven tries on the night and although a late surge by Shimlas pulled it back to 72-49, UJ dominated the encounter.

Player That Rocks: Johan Oosthuizen (UJ)



Nine-point tries: Bradley Moolman, Ronald Brown

Seven-point tries: Ronald Brown, Caswell Khoza, David Antonites, Wian Conradie

Five-point tries: Robert De Bruyn

Cons: Divan Nel (6)

Pens: Divan Nel (3)


Nine-point tries: Mosolwa Mafuma, Boela Venter

Seven-point tries: Stephan Janse van Rensburg, Arthur Williams, Vuyani Maqina

Cons: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (5) 



15 Ronald Brown, 14 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 13 Bradley Moolman, 12 Robert De Bruyn, 11 Caswell Khoza, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Devon Mare, 8 Jakobus Porter, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 David Antonites, 4 FP Pelser, 3 Nico Du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman, 1 Siyakubonga Nzuzo

Substitutes: 16 Emmanuel Morowane, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Jeremy Jordaan, 19 Frederik Bezuidenhout, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Peter John Walters, 22 Dominic Kroezen, 23 Waldo Weideman


15 Renaldo Meyer, 14 Mosolwa Mafuma, 13 Pieter Faber, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 8 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Anrich Alberts, 5 Dennis visser, 4 Ntokoza Vidima, 3 Dolph Botha, 2 Marco Klopper, 1 Thabiso Khanye

Substitutes: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18 Nicolaas Immelman, 19 Boela Venter, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Musa Mahlasela, 23 Chase Morison

Read more on:    shimlas  |  uj  |  varsity cup  |  bloemfontein  |  johannesburg  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.