Varsity Cup

Shimlas stun champions NWU-Pukke

2017-02-27 21:54

Cape Town - Shimlas claimed victory in superb conditions as they dominated NWU-Pukke to send their opponents back to Potchefstroom with their tails between their legs.

Shimlas won 35-23.

Jimmy Mpailane from NWU-Pukke scored the opening try of the match as he went for a seven-point try. Schalk Hugo converted the kick to put the visitors 9-0 ahead.

In the 16th minute it was Nicolaas Immelman from Shimlas who got the home side on the board with a five-point try.

The conversions was missed and Pukke led 9-5 ahead of the 'strategy break'.

NWU-Pukke were punished for a high tackle and poor discipline as the referee awarded a penalty try to Shimlas. Penalty tries don't require the conversion to be taken under Varsity Cup rules.

The home team went into half time ahead 12-9.

As the second half started it was Shimlas who dominated the first few minutes with a try by Dian Badenhorst followed by the bonus-point try by Daniel Maartens.

Those two tries put the home side 28-9 ahead by the 48th minute.

Wandile Mazibuko from NWU-Pukke narrowed the gap as he went over for a five-pointer. Julian Delicado, who came on after the break, kicked the conversion to put them 28-16 down before the second half 'strategy break'.

However, the writing was on the wall for the visitors as Benardus Erasmus scored a try in the 68th minute to add five points to Shimlas’ score. Marco Mason converted his third kick of the evening successfully to put them 35-16 ahead.

Morné Strydom closed the gap as he went over for NWU-Pukke in the 83th minute and Delicado's conversion made the final score 35-23 to Shimlas.

Player that Rocks: Daniel Maartens (Shimlas)



Tries: Jimmy Mpailane (seven-point), Wandile Mazibuko (five-point), Morné Strydom (five-point)
Conversions: Schalk Hugo, Julian Delicado (2)

Tries: Nicolaas Immelman (five-point), Dian Badenhorst (five-point), Daniel Maartens (seven-point), Bernardus Erasmus (five-point), penalty try (seven-points)
Conversions: Marco Mason (3)



15 Tapiwe Mafura, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Jaap Pienaar, 11 Justin Newman, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Marno Redelinghuys (captain), 7 Loftus Morrison, 6 Wandile Mazibuko, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Jaco Swanepoel, 3 Dewald Dekker, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Dolf van Deventer

Substitutes: 16 Dane van der Westhuizen, 17 Morné Strydom, 18 Boela Venter, 19 Marcel Henn, 20 Caleb Louw, 21 Julian Delicado, 22 Nkululeko Mcuma, 23 Lungelo Gosa


15 Sechaba Matsoele, 14 Vuyani Maqina, 13 Lihleli Xoli, 12 Stephan Janse van Rensburg (captain), 11 Marco Mason, 10 Niel Stannard, 9 Dian Badenhorst, 8 Bernardus Erasmus, 7 Phumzile Maqondwana, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Raymond Woest, 4 Nicolaas Immelman,  3 Ruan Kramer, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Johan Kotze

Substitutes: 16 Francois Steyn, 17 Kwenzokuhle Blose, 18 Thabiso Msiza, 19 Ruben Schoeman, 20 Musa Mahlasela, 21 Armand Pretorius, 22 Nicholas Naude, 23 Wilhandre Kotzenberg

Read more on:    shimlas  |  varsity cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.