Varsity Cup

Pukke storm to victory

2017-02-20 22:37
Varsity Cup logo (File)

Cape Town - It was the NWU-Pukke’s night, after their defeat against the Maties last Monday, as they made a comeback in Round Four of the Varsity Cup against the Ikeys with a win of 20-15 at the Fanie Du Toit Stadium.

NWU-Pukke opened the scoring in the third minute of the encounter as Elden Schoeman went over the tryline.  Schalk Hugo successfully converted the try to leave the home team leading 7-0.

It was the kicking boot of Hugo in rainy conditions who successfully converted a penalty for the NWU-Pukke in the seventh minute to keep the score ticking as their lead extended to 10-0.

Another penalty from Hugo in the 16th minute then put them 13-0 up.

The Ikeys struggled in slippery conditions as they tried to gain momentum. But it was the boot of the Ikeys’ Lohan Lubbe who managed to get the visitors on the board as they headed into halftime 13-3.

As the Ikeys entered the second half they were already on the back foot as the NWU-Pukke secured the most field territory.

It was the yellow card given to the NWU-Pukke’s Justin Newman that set the Ikeys up for a penalty to narrow the lead to 13-6.

NWU-Pukke extended their lead thanks to a try for Estehan Visagie as he went over the try line to put the home side up 20-6.

In the 81th minute of the encounter, it was Gary Porter from the Ikeys who scored a consolation try for a final score of 20-15.

Player that Rocks: Tapiwe Mafura (NWU-Pukke)


NWU-Pukke: 20

Tries: Elden Schoeman (five-pointer), Estehan Visagie (five-pointer)
Conversions: Hugo (2)
Penalties: Hugo (2)

Ikeys: 13

Tries: Gary Porter (seven-pointer)
Conversions: Lohan Lubbe (1)
Penalties: Lohan Lubbe (2)


15 Tapiwe Mafura, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Jaap Pienaar, 11 Justin Newman, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Boela Venter, 6 Marcel Henn, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Kabelo Motloung, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Dolf van Deventer.

Substitutes: 16 Dane van der Westhuizen, 17 Dewald Dekker, 18 Morné Strydom, 19 Estehan Visagie, 20, Wandile Mazibuko, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Nkululeko Mcuma, 23 Lungelo Gosa.


15 Lohan Lubbe, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Tristan Mouton, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Robert Anderson, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klaasen, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Duncan Saffy, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper.

Substitutes: 16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Suwilanji Chibale, 21 Sanele Malwane, 22 Gerard Pieterse, 23 Hilio de Abreu.


Read more on:    varsity cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Monday, 26 March 2018
Shimlas v CUT, Shimla Park 16:45
UP-Tuks v NMU Madibaz, Tuks Stadium 18:30
UJ v UCT Ikeys, UJ Stadium 18:30
NWU-Pukke v Maties, Fanie du Toit Stadium 19:00
Monday, 02 April 2018
TBC v TBC, TBC 16:30
TBC v TBC, TBC 19:00
Monday, 16 April 2018
TBC v TBC, TBC 19:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.