Varsity Cup

Maties see off spirited Shimlas

2016-03-24 21:34
Rugby ball (File)

Cape Town - The Maties secured top spot on Monday evening when they beat the Shimlas 35-14 at the Cape Town Stadium in the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International.

Maties were made to work hard for their victory as Shimlas put on a gutsy performance. Mosolwa Mafuma opened the scoring for Shimlas before Remu Malan scored a nine-point try for Maties. 

Maties were awarded a penalty try seven minutes later after a powerful maul, before winger, Edwill van der Merwe scored his side’s third try of the match.

Arthur Williams got one back for Shimlas on the stroke of half time as the men from Stellenbosch took a 21-14 lead into the break.

Maties started the second half strongly and were rewarded when flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg burst through the line to score his side’s fourth try. The rest of the second half was much tighter as both sides failed to break each other’s defensive lines.

FNB Player That Rocks, Kobus van Dyk, made sure of the result when he scored five minutes from time as claimed top spot in this year’s Varsity Cup with one round to go.

Player That Rocks: Kobus van Dyk (FNB Maties) 


Maties: 35

Five-point tries: Penalty Try, Edwill van der Merwe, Ernst Stapelberg, Kobus van Dyk
Nine-point tries: Remu Malan
Cons: Ernst Stapelberg (3)

Shimlas: 14

Five-point Tries: Mosolwa Mafuma, Arthur Williams
Cons: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (2)



15 Craig Barry, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Saud Abrahams, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Johan Momsen, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse

Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Justin Moberly, 19 Sidney Labuschagne, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Brandon Asher-Wood, 23 Frederik Kleinhans


15 Marco Mason, 14 Mosolwa Mafuma, 13 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 12 Arthur Williams, 11 Vuyani Maqina, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 8 Murray Bondesio, 7 Niel Claassen ©, 6 Musa Mahlasela, 5 Boela Venter, 4 Nicolaas Immelman, 3 Chase Morison, 2 Hugget Elandre, 1 Teunis Nieuwoudt

Replacements: 16 Marco Klopper, 17 Johan Kotze, 18 Ntokoza Vidima, 19 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 20 Renier Botha, 21 Renaldo Meyer, 22 Apiwe Dinga, 23 Dolph Botha

Read more on:    varsity cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.