Varsity Cup

Maties maul hapless Pukke

2016-03-21 17:41
Maties v Pukke (File)

Cape Town - Maties retained their top spot in the standings with a convincing win over Pukke, scoring six tries for the bonus point win at the FNB Stadium in Soweto on Monday afternoon.  

According to the Rugby365 website, the team from Stellenbosch took the lead in the 14th minute when fullback Craig Barry eased through a gap in the Pukke defence to score.

Pukke got a try of their own a few minutes later when Malherbe Swart went over.

However, it was all Maties after that with two nine-point tries from Edwill van der Merwe and Paul Streicher giving the Cape side a 27-5 lead.

Maties captain Beyers de Villiers got on the score sheet as well and the Stellenbosch side led 32-5 at the break.

Pukke was the first to score in the second half through a try by flyhalf Bernhard Janse van Rensburg, but that was before Barry kicked a loose ball to regather and score a seven-point try.

With 20 minutes left, the Maties had a 35-point lead after flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg added a few more points with some penalties.

Although they had a big lead, there was no let up from the Maties as their backline made light work of the Pukke defence.

Another swift move saw Duncan Saal's name added to the list of try scorers late in the game.

Player That Rocks: Craig Barry (Maties)



Nine-point tries: Edwill van der Merwe, Paul Streicher
Seven-point tries: Craig Barry, Duncan Saal
Five-point tries: Craig Barry, Beyers de Villiers
Conversions: Ernst Stapelberg (4)
Penalties: Stapelberg (2)


Five-point tries: Malherbe Swart, Benhard Janse van Rensburg
Conversion: Rhyno Smith



15 Craig Barry, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Wyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Beyers de Villiers, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse

Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Johan Momsen, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Christopher Smith, 22 Brandon Asher-Wood, 23 JE van der Merwe


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Nkululeko Mcuma, 13 Sylvian Mahuza, 12 Johan Deysel, 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 9 Malherbe Swart, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Jeandre Rudolph, 6 Jaco Jordaan, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Bartholomeus Le Roux, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Johan Smith

Replacements: 16 Louis Van der Westhuizen, 17 Mashudu Mafela, 18 Christiaan Liebenberg, 19 Gideon van der Merwe, 20 Kurshwill Williams, 21 AK Nela, 22 Elden Schoeman, 23 Mogau Mabokela

Read more on:    pukke  |  maties  |  varsity cup  |  cape town  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.