Varsity Cup

Madibaz edge Ikeys for first Varsity Cup win

2016-03-21 17:30
NMMU v UCT (File)

Cape Town - The NMMU-Madibaz trailed for most of the match, but finished strongly with two tries in the final few minutes to defeat UCT 46-33 at the FNB Stadium on Monday afternoon.

According to the Rugby365 website, it was the Madibaz's first win in this year's Varsity Cup, while UCT remain winless.

UCT got off to a flying start when centre Lihleli Xoli opened the scoring with a try.

The Port Elizabeth team took some time to get in the game, but they found themselves in front after 14 minutes when wing Ivan-John du Preez finished off a breakout move to score a nine-point try. 

However, the Madibaz's lead did not last long as Xoli scored his second try straight after the kick-off to put UCT back in front.

The Madibaz were the first to strike after the first strategy break when Tyler Paul got in for a try, but again they let UCT strike back almost immediately when UCT lock Gary Porter crashed over from close range to widen the gap on the scoreboard once again.

The Cape side went into the half-time break leading 23-16. 

UCT were the first to score in the second half when Bradley Janse van Rensburg went over for a try. NMMU hit back soon after however, when Paul went over for his second try of the game.

The Madibaz then took the lead in the 60th minute when Junior Pokomela stretched over for his try.

With 13 minutes left UCT took the lead once again with a Bednall penalty, but that was not going to be enough as Du Preez bagged his second try five minutes from time. 

The game was then put to bed by the Madibaz when Stephanus Nieuwoud got the final try of the game just before full-time.

Player That Rocks: Brandon Brown (Madibaz)



Nine-point try: Lihleli Xoli
Seven-point tries: Bradley Janse van Rensburg
Five-point tries: Lihleli Xoli, Gary Porter
Conversions: Thomas Bednall (2)
Penalty: Thomas Bednall


Nine-point try: Ivon-John du Preez
Seven-point tries: Junior Pokomela, Ivon-John du Preez, Stephanus Nieuwoudt
Five-point tries: Henry Brown, Tyler Paul
Conversions: Thomas Kean (3)



15 Joel Smith, 14 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 13 Justin Heunis, 12 Lihleli Xoli, 11 Nathan Nel, 10 Thomas Bednall, 9 Steven Wallace, 8 Guy Alexander, 7 Mark Prior, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 David Maasch, 2 Brenton Greaves, 1 Joel Carew

Substitutes: 16 Keagan Timm, 17 Msizi Zondi, 18 Olwethu Hans, 19 Sean Paterson, 20 Dylan Tidbury, 21 Rob Anderson, 22 Suwi Chibale, 23 Samuel Theron


15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Ivon-John du Preez, 13 Keanu Vers, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Khaya Malotana, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Henry Brown, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Kevin Kaba, 3 Nemo Roelofse, 2 Jean-Pierre Jamieson, 1 Nicolaas Oosthuizen

Substitutes: 16 Jedwyn Harty, 17 Marzuk Maarman, 18 Jayson Reinecke, 19 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 20 Luvo Classen, 21 Thomas Kean, 22 Andile Jho, 23 Xandre Vos

Read more on:    varsity cup  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.