Varsity Cup

Vishuis keep 'Koshuis' crown

2013-04-08 18:51
Rugby (File)
Cape Town - Shimlas side Vishuis edged Villagers 20-16 to win their third "Koshuisrugby Championship" title in Stellenbosch on Monday.

The defending champions from Bloemfontein made the early running after Villagers from NWU-Pukke could not collect off the first kick-off. A penalty early in the game inside the Villagers 22 was taken quickly before another penalty was converted into points by fullback Beyers Louw to give Vishuis an early 2-0 lead.

Villagers only managed to get the ball in the fifth minute but once they got it they maintained possession and their sustained pressure resulted in a try from Adriaan Oosthuizen after he got himself on the outside of a defender to give his side an 8-2 lead.

VIDEO: Koshuis final, highlights

The Potchefstroom side exerted pressure on Vishuis and that resulted in them creating another highly successful driving maul which allowed No 8 Daniel Bensusan to crash over. Juan Booyens made no mistake with the conversion and Villagers led 16-2 after 16 minutes.

At the break the Villagers side would have been a lot happier with their 16-2 lead having enjoyed the majority of the ball as well as field position.

The wind played quite a dominant role in the first-half and Vishuis would have felt that they still had a good shot going into the second 35 minutes with the wind at their backs.

Villagers came out exactly how they had finished the first-half and some slick hands lead to them making a promising burst into the Vishuis 22, but it came to nothing when the defence held out.

After a fairly quiet first 15 minutes in the second-half Vishuis won a turnover in their own half and countered beautifully to gain some valuable momentum which resulted in a Leon Du Raan try under the posts. The conversion from Louw was successful and with 20 minutes to play Villagers led 16-10.

The defending champions showed their class when they scored in the right-hand corner after a good backline move ended with the ball in the hands of Lourens Jonker, and the conversion from Louw was outstanding from the right-hand touchline.

Vishuis, with 11 minutes to play, went into an 18-16 lead and definitely had the momentum on their side.

Fullback Louw was huge in the game and made a number of telling breaks as well offering his side an educated right boot on defence as well as attack.

The side from Bloemfontein proved far too strong at the death and Louw added a late penalty to give his side their third title as they snuck a gutsy 20-16 win.



Tries: Du Raan, Jonker
Conversions: Louw 2
Penalties: Louw 2

Tries: Oosthuizen, Bensusan
Conversions: Booyens 2



15 Beyers Louw, 14 Garneth Kock, 13 Adrian Fransman, 12 Stephan Smith, 11 Lourens Jonker, 10 Dian Beukes, 9 Willie Viljoen, 8 Peet Coetzee, 7 Ernst Schoeman, 6 Ricky van Straaten, 5 Willie Barry (captain), 4 Leon du Raan, 3 Schalk Oosthuizen, 2 Christiaan Raubenheimer, 1 Louis Cloete.

Substitutes: 16 Wandile Tsabe, 17 Niel Fourie, 18 Henfred Line, 19 Armand de Wet, 20 Riaan du Toit, 21 Barend Bornman, 22 Casper du Plessis, 23 Stefanus Burger.


15 Juan Booyens, 14 Anton Oosthuizen, 13 Adriaan Oosthuizen, 12 Dirk Odendaal, 11 Jacques Smith, 10 Divan Muller, 9 Armand Robbertse, 8 Daniel Bensusan, 7 Marcel Henn, 6 Russouw Wheeler (captain), 5 Divan Steenekamp, 4 Waldo Franken, 3 Antonie Swanepoel, 2 Charl Esterhuysen, 1 DW Reynecke.

Substitutes: 16 Dewald Van Schalkwyk, 17 Arno Noordman, 18 Corné Swanepoel, 19 Johan Engelbrecht, 20 Sewes Wolmerans, 21 Quinton van Schalkwyk 22 De La Rey Van Huyssteen, 23 Derek Roos.

Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Deon van Blommestein

Read more on:    varsity cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.