Varsity Cup

Varsity Cup to honour its Boks

2015-04-10 15:03
Nizaam Carr (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The Varsity Cup has produced a long list of Springboks over the last few years.

No less than 15 capped Springboks have graced the playing fields of the inter-varsity competition and Varsity Cup has started a campaign to honour its stars with The Bok that Rocks campaign.

The Bok that Rocks campaign seeks to honour Varsity Cup and Varsity Shield players who have gone on to represent the Springboks with a personalised jersey of the Varsity Cup side that they played for.

In the Varsity Cup, the man of the match is named the ‘Player that Rocks’, and the ‘Bok that Rocks’ campaign is an extension of that.

Trevor Nyakane, Nizaam Carr, Marcel van der Merwe, Damien de Allende, Juan de Jongh and Eben Etzebeth have already received their jerseys and shared their views on how Varsity Cup made a difference in their careers. All the videos are available to view on the Varsity Cup YouTube Channel.

“It's a good initiative and the best one I've been part of. It gave me the platform to showcase my skills and push for selection. It was a great platform for me straight after school,” said Carr.

“Varsity Shield was a good stepping stone that helped me with exposure. It's also good that it combines studying with playing. It's important for young players to know that they need something to fall back on if playing rugby doesn't work out for them,” Nyakane said.

During Monday night’s final at Shimlas Park in Bloemfontein, Lood de Jager and Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje will be honoured with their jerseys.  Both currently ply their trade with the Cheetahs and played their Varsity Cup rugby at the two teams who have made this year’s final. Mohoje is a Shimlas alumni while De Jager attended Pukke.

The 15 Springboks who have played Varsity Cup are: Juan De Jongh (Maties), Jaco Taute (UJ), Coenie Oosthuizen (UFS-Shimlas), JJ Engelbrecht (Maties), Eben Etzebeth (UCT), Arno Botha (UP-Tuks), Trevor Nyakane (CUT), Lourens Adriaanse (Maties), Marcel van der Merve (UFS-Shimlas), Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (UFS-Shimlas), Handre Pollard (UP-Tuks), Loode de Jager (NWU-Pukke), Damian De Allende (UCT) and Nizaam Carr (UCT)

Read more on:    varsity cup  |  nizaam carr  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.