Unbeaten UJ fight back

2011-02-21 21:16

Johannesburg - FNB UJ came from behind to record an emotional 28-24 victory over FNB Shimlas in their Varsity Cup clash in Johannesburg on Monday night.

Seemingly down and out six minutes after the break, with the Shimlas rampant following three tries and leading 24-9, the UJ forwards started to put their stamp on the match.

Halfway through the second half they scored their first try after a 45-metre run by scrumhalf Jacques Pretorius who set winger Lolo Waqa on his way for a try in the corner.

Then, just six minutes later, UJ shoved the Shimlas off their scrum ball and after some good phases replacement prop Ruan Dreyer went over.

Trailing only 21-24 and with 12 minutes to go, UJ were now in control, and replacement hooker Francois du Toit' s converted try put his side 28-24 ahead with only four minutes on the clock.

Shimlas then threw everything they had into attack and took if wide after seven phases on the UJ line, but a poor pass with an overlap cost them the winning score.

Shimlas initially impressed with the pace at which they played while UJ had too little possession to make an early impression - until midway through the second half, that is, when their forwards took over.

The three tries by Shimlas were also gems, with their first from scrumhalf Enrico Acker following a ruck and perfect dummy by the Shimlas scrumhalf.

Just before the break, Cameron Jacobs dotted down after a quick penalty had caught UJ off-guard, and then, shortly after the break centre Zandré de Bruin went over in the corner after a wrap-around backline move to put his team 24-9 ahead.

The scorers:

Waka, Dreyer, Du Toit
Cons: Kotzé 2
Pens: Kotzé 2
DG: Kotzé

For FNB Shimlas:
Acker, Jacobs, De Bruin
Cons: Davids 3
Pen: Davids


15 Earl Lewis, 14 Aubrey McDonald, 13 Justin St. Jerry, 12 Luan Steenkamp, 11 Lolo Waka, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Jacques Pretorius, 8 Cameron Peverett, 7 Justin Wheeler (captain), 6 Johan van Deventer, 5 Marnus van Huyssteen, 4 Shane Kirkwood, 3 Anthony Gallacher, 2 Alfred Ries, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.                                                             
Replacements: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 Ollie Terblanche, 18 Jacobus Swanepoel, 19 Wendal Wehr, 20 Danny Botha, 21 André Smith, 22 Divan Zyl, 23 Ruan Dreyer.

Head coach: Hugo van As

FNB Shimlas:
15 Shaun Davids, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Zandre de Bruin, 12 Charl Weideman, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Jaco Colyn (captain), 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Etienne Terblanche, 7 Pieter Labuschagnè, 6 Hanno Pieterse, 5 Joubert Horn, 4 Wilken Heyns, 3 Ian Potgieter, 2 Hercu Liebenberg, 1 John-Henry Harris.
Replacements: 16 JC van Wyk, 17 Stephan Kotze, 18 Oupa Mohoje, 19 Erik le Roux, 20 George Whitehead, 21 Franna du Toit, 22 Divandre Strydom, 23 Henry van Niekerk.

Head coach: Jaco Swanepoel