Varsity Cup

UFS win Young Guns title

2014-03-31 22:08
Varsity Cup (File)
Pretoria - The Shimlas Young Guns have claimed the title after beating defending champions UP-Tuks Young Guns in a dramatic kick-off after extra time in Pretoria.

UP-Tuks had never lost a Young Guns game heading into this clash, but they were pushed to the limit by a determined UFS side that played the last 15 minutes of regular time and 20 minutes of extra time with just 14 men.

The hosts made a convincing start to the game surging into UFS-Shimlas territory after a powerful opening scrum from the Bloemfontein side, and it was not long before scrumhalf Ivan van Zyl stretched to score the first try and give UP-Tuks a 8-0 lead.

The UFS scrum was clearly dominant, giving them a good platform as they looked to hit back, and after an extended period of pressure they opted to kick at goal with Stephen Rautenbach slotting a penalty to reduce the gap to 8-2 at the first strategy break.

Both teams spent time in the opposition 22 once play got underway again, but neither could find the finishing touch in a frantic passage of play.

The UFS-Shimlas pack continued to dominate the set-pieces, but their backline was not able to take advantage with a number of basic errors creeping into their game.

UP-Tuks thought they had scored their second try when Dimitrio Tieties raced down the touchline on a counter-attack, but the TMO spotted a knock-on in the build-up.

The visitors were struck a blow on the stroke of half-time when lock Andre Venter was shown a yellow card for a dangerous tackle, with UP-Tuks flyhalf Marais knocking the easy penalty over to give his side a 10-2 advantage at the break.

UFS came out firing in the second half and came within inches of scoring, but the UP-Tuks defence held firm, showing good discipline on their own tryline.

The Bloemfontein side eventually got some reward when Rautenbach slotted a long-range penalty, but the home side responded immediately as a Marais penalty took their lead to 12-4.

However, UFS-Shimlas continued to press and they were finally rewarded when lock Justin Basson forced his way over from close range to level the scores at 12-12.

The visitors had all of the momentum heading into the final stages, but a second yellow card for Venter after another dangerous tackle put them under serious pressure.

The Bloemfontein side did not back off though, and although both kickers had chances to snatch victory, the match went into extra time with the scores still level after 80 minutes.

It was not long before the defending champions were back in front with wing Keanan van Wyk racing over in the corner to score their second try, which gave them a 17-12 advantage with just ten minutes left to play.

However, there was one more twist as Rautenbach scored in the corner in the last minute, sending the game to a kick-off to decide the champions.

The UFS kickers did the job, leaving the two-time champions to consider what might have been after a truly dramatic match that went all the way.


UP-Tuks Young Guns: Tries: Van Zyl, Van Wyk; Con: Marais; Pens: Marais 2
UFS-Shimlas Young Guns: Tries: Basson, Rautenbach; Con: Rautenbach; Pens: Rautenbach 2

Yellow cards: Andre Venter (UFS-Shimlas, 39 - Dangerous tackle), Venter (UFS-Shimlas, 64 - Dangerous tackle)


UP-Tuks Young Guns:

15 Wyatt Murphy, 14 Dimitrio Tieties, 13 Marquit September, 12 Adrian Maebane, 11 Keanan van Wyk, 10 Kobus Marais, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Chris Massyn, 6 Heinrich Viljoen, 5 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 4 Abongile Nonkontwana, 3 Pierre Schoeman (captain), 2 Arno van Wyk, 1 Piet Strauss

Substitutes: 16 Francois Steyn, 17 Njabulo Gumede, 18 RG Snyman, 19 Corne Cooper, 20 Kobus Wolmarans, 21 Simon Bolze, 22 Jurie Linde, 23 Matthys Basson

UFS-Shimlas Young Guns:

15 Stephen Rautenbach, 14 Donovan Gissing, 13 Pieter Faber, 12 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Charlton Koopman, 10 Ruan Potgieter, 9 Zee Makhabela, 8 Andries Kriek, 7 Boela Venter, 6 Steven Meiring, 5 Andre Venter, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Conrad van Vuuren, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Ox Niche

Substitutes: 16 Anrich Alberts, 17 Petrus Senekal, 18 Daniel Maartens, 19 Refuoe Rampetha, 20 TJ Goodard, 21 Herman Share, 22 Lorenzo Gordon, 23 Gunter Janse van Vuuren

Referee: Lesego Legoete
Assistant referees: Jan Venter, Wilko Esterhuizen
TMO: Willie Vos

Read more on:    pretoria  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.