TUT seal historic victory

2011-02-14 21:27

Pretoria - The Tswane University of Technology (TUT) scored one of their most impressive Varsity Cup victories of all time, fighting back from 19-0 down, to go on and record a 46-34 victory over Pretoria rivals Tuks on Monday evening.

TUT proved that money can't buy a rugby team when they outclassed the superiorly resourced University of Pretoria (Tuks) in front of their home crowd.

Tuks game out with all guns blazing and with their first visit to TUT territory fullback Jurgens Visser finished in the corner to give the home side an early lead.

The second try was a real pearler and started five metres inside the Tuks half with a well executed rolling maul, followed by a brilliant breakaway by eighthman Jono Ross who stampeded his way into the TUT 22.

Then, through quick recycling, wing Deon Helberg was left with an easy run-in and the visitors in all sorts of trouble.

Having jumped to a 12-0 lead, Tuks continued to dominate play and although the Vikings did their best to get out of trouble, it remained a one sided affair.

To add insult to injury wing Hayden Groepes set off on a brilliant darting run inside his own half and, after running circles around the TUT defence, he offloaded to fellow Blue Bulls stalwart Marnitz Boshoff to put Tuks ahead 19-0.

TUT eventually managed to get their hands on the ball and were justly rewarded when hooker Johan Pieterse was shoved over the line by his pack.

Flyhalf Ruan Boshoff slotted the conversion and TUT had seven points to show for their efforts.

But as was the case earlier on, TUT found it extremely difficult to get their hands on the nippy Groepes who beat six defenders before sending the ball wide for flank Warick Tecklenburg to score the bonus point try.

With 12 minutes left in the first half Tuks enjoyed a 27-7 lead.

The match was, however, turned on its head when centre Jean du Plessis received a red card for a tip-tackle.

After a disappointing start the Vikings rolled up their sleeves and got stuck in, making use of their numerical advantage.

It was only a matter of minutes before skipper Wikus Botes and his loose-trio partner Wessel Cronje found themselves on the right side of the try line.

With only three points separating teams at the break (27-24 to Tuks) the visitors picked up where they left off to take the lead after equalising through a Boshoff penalty.

The try that gave TUT the upper-hand for the first time was scored by wing Andisa Nqobo.

The TUT team that took the field in the second half looked nothing like the run on team.

They played most of their rugby in the Tuks half and were far more accurate in their decision making.

The hosts fought back bravely to get within striking distance of the visitors.

Trailing 39-27 Ross barged over for a well deserved try which seemed to light a spark under his team mates.

With the score at 34-39 and only five minutes left on the clock, the home side came within inches of scoring the potential match winner, but were kept out by some very committed defenders.

With men out wide Tuks spread the ball and will consider themselves unlucky that centre Hansie Graaf intercepted and scored from 80 metres out.

Last year's whipping boys have now learnt that they are just as good at dishing it out as they were at receiving it.


Tuks 34(27): Tries - Jurgens Visser, Deon Helberg, Marnitz Boshoff, Warwick Tecklenburg, Jono Ross. Conversions. Marnitz Boshoff (1), Wesley Dunlop (2) Penalty Dunlop (1)

TUT: 46(24): Tries - Johan Pieterse (2), Wikus Botes, Wessel Cronje, Andisa Nqobo, Hansie Graaf. Conversions - Ruan Boshoff (5). Penalties Boshoff (2)


FNB Tuks:
15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Jean du Plessis, 12, Wesley Dunlop (captain), 11 Hayden Groepes, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Neil de Bruin, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Nqubeko Zulu, 6 Warwick Tecklenberg, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 MB Lusaseni, 3 Grant Kemp, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Vincent Koch.
Replacements: 16 Chris Crous, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Stairs Mlongo, 19 Wesley Kotze, 20 Clayton Stewart, 21 Arno van Zyl, 22 Boeboes Coetzee, 23 Jean Rossouw.


15 Justin van Staden, 14 Andisa Gqobo, 13 Hansie Graaff, 12 Lutho Nyeka, 11 Thom Seabela, 10 Ruan Boshoff, 9 Ettienne Greeff, 8 Wikus Botes (captain), 7 Emile Verster, 6 Vince Gwavu, 5 JJ Breet, 4 Dries Ferreira, 3 Juan-Phillip Pike, 2 Johan Pieterse, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.
Replacements: 16 Eugene Cunha, 17 Anton Krynauw, 18 Julian Erasmus, 19 Wessel Cronjé, 20 Manny Raposso, 21 Simphiwe Mtimkulu, 22 Ruan van Loo, 23 Jan Scheepers.

Matt Kemp