Shimlas run riot in Pretoria

2011-03-14 21:15

Pretoria - The FNB Shimlas were in an uncompromising mood against the FNB TUT Vikings as they ran in eight tries to record a 52-26 victory over the home side in Monday night's FNB Varsity Cup match played in the capital.

It was, however, not all bad news for the home supporters as their team managed to score a try shortly after the second strategic break which means all TUT students will be eligible for a free beer at participating Spur restaurants on Tuesday.

Accuracy near the opposing team’s try line ensured that Shimlas enjoyed a 19-0 lead after 20 minutes of play with wing Jamba Ulengo scoring twice after eighthman Erik Le Roux opened his teams account with a stampeding run.

The Vikngs showed great character to fight back in the second half, but by the time flank Ryno Lopes scored the try that earned his fellow students a free drink, the damage had already been done.

Star performers for the Shimlas were fullback George Whitehead, eighthman Erik le Roux and scrumhalf Enrico Acker whos decision making contributed immensely to his team’s great finishing on the night.

The scorers:

Tries: Ruan van Loo, Ryno Lopes, Tinus van Wyk, Hansie Gree
Cons: Ruan Boshoff 3

Tries: Erik le Roux, Jamba Ulengo 2, Jaco Colyn, Enrico Acker, JC van Wyk
Cons: George Whitehead 6

FNB TUT: 15 Justin van Staden, 14 Ruan van Loo, 13 Simphiwe Mtimkulu, 12 Lutho Nyeka, 11 Hansie Graaff, 10 Ruan Boshoff (captain), 9 Ettienne Greeff, 8 Wessel Cronjé, 7 Ryno Lopes, 6 Vince Gwavu, 5 Mare Ewald, 4 Tinus van Wyk, 3 Dandre van der Westhuyzen, 2 Johan Pieterse, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.

Replacements: 16 Eugene Cunha, 17 Jan Scheepers, 18 Ryno Coetzee, 19 Gerrie van Niekerk, 20 Manny Raposso, 21 Abednego Mamushi, 22 Theuns Kruger, 23 Anton Krynauw.

FNB Shimlas: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Cameron Jacobs, 12 Earl Snyman, 11 Divandre Strydom, 10 Jaco Colyn, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Erik le Roux, 7 Willie Britz (captain), 6 Pieter Labuschagnè, 5 Joubert Horn, 4 Wilken Heyns, 3 Ian Potgieter, 2 JC van Wyk, 1 John-Henry Harris.

Replacements: 16 Martin van der Heever, 17 Johan van Niekerk, 18 Frederick Ngoza, 19 Gerrit Theron, 20 Shaun Davids, 21 Kobus Neethling, 22 Charl Weideman, 23 Henry van Niekerk.