Shimlas keep Pukke winless

2011-03-07 21:27

Bloemfontein - FNB Shimlas left it late but in the end they managed to edge out a 37-28 victory over the much-improved FNB Pukke in Bloemfontein on Monday night.

In a thrilling game in which the lead changed hands a number of times Shimlas grabbed a late victory to ensure that Pukke remain winless in the Varsity Cup this season.

The Men from Potchefstroom took a slender 17-13 lead into the half-time break and then came out strong in the second period, securing their four-try bonus point in the process.

However, the home team fought back hard and dragged the match back. They held on in the face of some intense late pressure from the visitors but a late handling error from the Pukke backline meant that Wilken Heyns was able to gallop in from long range to score his second try and seal the bonus point victory.

Pukke will be gutted at only taking one bonus point from a game which they feel they should have won after looking the dominant side for large periods.


FNB Shimlas:
15 Shaun Davids, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Zandre de Bruin, 12 Charl Weideman, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Jaco Colyn, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Willie Britz (captain), 7 Pieter Labuschagnè, 6 Hanno Pieterse, 5 Joubert Horn, 4 Wilken Heyns, 3 Ian Potgieter, 2 JC van Wyk, 1 John-Henry Harris.
Replacements: 16 Martin van der Heever, 17 Johan van Niekerk, 18 Frederick Ngoza, 19 Etienne Terblanche, 20 George Whitehead, 21 Franna du Toit, 22 Divandre Strydom, 23 Henry van Niekerk.

FNB Pukke:
15 Willem Barnard, 14 Andrew van Wyk, 13 Kempie Rautenbach, 12 Wouter Watermeyer, 11 Joe Seerane, 10 Cecil Dumond, 9 Tiaan Dorfling, 8 Cornel du Preez, 7 Philip de Wet, 6 Siya Mdaka, 5 Victor Kruger, 4 Ligtoring Landman (captain), 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 JC Oberholzer, 1 Pens Sharneck.
Replacements: 16 Chris Schoonraad, 17 Snoepie Coetzee, 18 Thabo Mamojele, 19 Spanner Pretorius, 20 Johann Laker, 21 Johnny Welthagen, 22 Terswin Raubenheimer, 23 Mashudu Mafela.