Varsity Cup

Ex-Bok to coach Varsity Cup Dream Team

2015-04-14 11:33
Franco Smith (Gallo Images)

Bloemfontein - Varsity Cup have named their Dream Team to play against the Junior Boks later this month.

The once off fixture will be played at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch on April 21 and broadcast live on Supersport at 18:30.

Reniel Hugo from Tuks will captain the side which includes eight players from Pukke, seven from Tuks, four from Shimlas and two from UCT with one each from Maties and UKZN making up the rest of the squad. Innocent Radebe is the only player from the Varsity Shield to make the squad.

The team will be coached by former Springbok flyhalf Franco Smith, who took Shimlas to their first ever Varsity Cup title, with support from Kovsies’ Hendro Scholtz and Tuks’ David Manual. The team will be completed by Quinton van Rooyen and Tanya Green from Maties who will serve as team manager and physiotherapist respectively, while Timothy Qumbu from Shimlas will be the sports scientist.

“The strength of this team reflects the wealth of talent that takes part in the Varsity Cup and Varsity Shield competitions. A number of these players have already started to make inroads at franchises as well as junior level at South Africa’s provincial teams. We are confident that they will put on a solid fight against the Junior Springboks,” commented Duitser Bosman, CEO of Varsity Sports.

SARU CEO, Jurie Roux, commented: “The momentum for the Varsity Cup Dream Team and the Junior Boks fixture is now really starting to build. The Junior Boks have recently named a 37-man training squad ahead of the 2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship and once the Junior Boks for this fixture are selected, it will give us a close look at a group of promising players and how they responded to the instructions given to them during their training camp. The youngsters spent valuable time with the SARU Mobi-Unit and I am sure they now have a good understanding of our playing principles and structures.”

Varsity Cup Dream Team: 15 Rhyno Smith (NWU-Pukke), 14 Maphutha Dolo (UFS-Shimlas), 13 Rowayne Beukman (NWU-Pukke), 12 Daniel Kriel (UP-Tuks), 11 Jean-Paul Lewis (Maties), 10 Innocent Radebe (UKZN-Impi), 9 Dillon Smit (NWU-Pukke), 8 Jeandre Rudolph (NWU-Pukke), 7 Henco Venter (UFS-Shimlas), 6 Wiaan Liebenberg (UP-Tuks), 5 Reniel Hugo (captain) (UP-Tuks), 4 Irne Herbst (UP-Tuks), 3 John-Roy Jenkinson (NWU-Pukke), 2 Chad Solomon (UCT-Ikeys), 1 Johan Smit (NWU-Pukke).

Substitutes: 16 Nqobisizwe Mxoli (UP-Tuks), 17 Jaco Visagie (UP-Tuks), 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen (UP-Tuks), 19 Walt Steenkamp (NWU-Pukke), 20 Gerhard Olivier (UFS-Shimlas), 21 Mthokozisi Mkhabela (UFS-Shimlas), 22 Johnny Welthagen (NWU-Pukke)

Read more on:    varsity cup  |  franco smith  |  rugby

Rona signs for Waratahs

2017-12-18 17:45

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.