Varsity Cup

30 schools represented in Varsity Cup final

2016-04-11 13:52
2016 Varsity Cup final logo

Cape Town - On Monday, April 11, 46 players will contest the ninth Varsity Cup final.

Thirty schools from across South Africa and as far as Namibia will be represented as their past pupils run out for Maties and Pukke.

In honour of these 30 schools, Varsity Cup has delivered the unique Pink Ball, containing the names of the 16 Springboks to have participated in the competition over the past nine years, to the headmaster of all 30 schools.

Each high school has received a personal letter from Varsity Cup CEO, Duitser Bosman, commending the school on producing one or more players of such high calibre, to be representing a team participating in a Varsity Cup final.

Although it is a big occasion even for schools who have just one player represented, schools such as Paarl Boys High continues to produce a number of quality rugby players, with seven of Monday’s finalists hailing from their school, while Paul Roos and Hoër Volkskool Potchefstroom each feature three.

High Schools represented in the 2016 Varsity Cup final:

•         Ben Vorster

•         Bishops

•         Brackenfell

•         Brits

•         Drostdy

•         Durbanville

•         Ermelo

•         Framesby

•         Frikkie Meyer

•         Glenwood

•         Granleigh College

•         Grey High

•         Jan Viljoen

•         Kasselvlei

•         Merensky

•         Monument

•         Nico Malan

•         Oakdale

•         Outeniqua

•         Overberg

•         Paarl

•         Paul Roos

•         Rustenberg

•         SACS

•         Schoonspruit

•         Vereeniging

•         Volkskool

•         Vredenberg

•         Windhoek

•         Wittenberg



15 Craig Barry (Paul Roos), 14 Brandon Asher-Wood (Grantleigh College), 13 Paul Streicher (Oakdale Agric), 12 Chris Smit (Paul Roos), 11 Edwill van der Merwe (Paul Roos), 10 Ernst Stapelberg (Framesby), 9 Remu Malan (Outeniqua), 8 Kobus van Dyk (Overberg), 7 Janco Venter (Windhoek High), 6 Beyers de Villiers (captain, Paarl Boys' High), 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys (Paarl Boys' High), 4 Ian Groenewald (Nico Malan), 3 Jacobus van der Merwe (Paarl Boys' High), 2 Johan Kirsten (Paarl Boys' High), 1 Chippie Oelofse (Glenwood)

Substitutes: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg (Vredenburg), 17 Wesley Adonis (Paarl Boys' High), 18 Sidney Labuschagne (Grey College), 19 Saud Abrahams (Bishops), 20 Bjorn Bernardo (Durbanville), 21 Christopher Smith (SACS), 22 Duncan Saal (Kasselsvlei), 23 Johannes Kleinhans (Brackenfell)


15 Rhyno Smith (Paarl Boys’ High), 14 Lucian Cupido (Paarl Boys’ High), 13 Johan Deysel (Windhoek High), 12 Hendrik Marais (Volkskool, Potchefstroom), 11 Sylvian Mahuza (Outeniqua High), 10 Barend Janse van Rensburg (Frikkie Meyer High), 9 Malherbe Swart (Volkskool, Potchefstroom), 8 Jeandre Rudolph (captain, Oakdale Agric), 7 Marno Redelinghuys (Schoonspruit High), 6 Jaco Jordaan (Paarl Gym), 5 Walt Steenkamp (Rustenburg High), 4 Neil Morrison (Witteberg High), 3 Bart le Roux (Framesby High), 2 Wilmar Arnoldi (E.H.S), 1 Mashudu Mafela (Merensky High)

Substitutes: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen (Windhoek High), 17 Joe Smith (Volkskool, Potchefstroom), 18 Ruan Venter (Monument High), 19 Tiaan Liebenberg (Jan Viljoen High), 20 Kurshwill Williams (Oudtshoorn High), 21 Akhona Nela (Glenwood High), 22 Dean Stokes (Brits High), 23 Mogau Mabokela (Ben Vorster)

Read more on:    pukke  |  maties  |  varsity cup  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.