Three Boks in fans' World XV

2013-12-19 09:04
Jean de Villiers (AFP)
Cape Town - Rugby fans have spoken - and their Ultimate Rugby World XV of the Year differs dramatically from the combination picked last week by the code’s international players.
While fans mirrored the players in voting New Zealand’s Kieran Read their “Player of the Year”, they made as many as six changes when it came to their overall XV, most noticeably in the backline, where they pumped for a different scrumhalf, first flyhalf, inside centre and wing.

Three South Africans - Jean de Villiers, Bismarck du Plessis and Eben Etzebeth - made the team.

The fans’ opted for Australian No 9 Will Genia ahead of the players’ pick, All Black Aaron Smith; flyhalf Dan Carter over countryman Aaron Cruden, De Villiers over Wesley Fofana at inside centre, and Folau ahead of New Zealand’s Ben Smith.

However, the fans were at one with the players when it came to hailing three of the stand-out performers on the world stage in 2013 - England prop Alex Corbisiero, lock Etzebeth and Welsh wing George North.

Corbisiero played a vital role in the British and Irish Lions’ series win over Australia; Etzebeth enjoyed a stellar second international season with South Africa, and North scored one of the tries of the season in the opening Lions Test, before dotting down again in the series decider.

Read narrowly won the vote for the Ultimate Rugby Fans’ ‘Player of the Year’ ahead of Wales and Lions star Leigh Halfpenny, with Folau, Ireland flank Sean O’Brien, and North the next most heavily supported.

Genia said on Wednesday he was thrilled to be recognised by the fans.

“It’s great the fans have been invited to participate in these awards,” he said. “They’re such a vital part of the international rugby machinery; it’s good to see they have a chance to have their say.

“And, of course, I’m doubly pleased they’ve included me in their World XV.”

Corbisiero said inclusion in the fans’ team capped off for him a memorable year.

“Being part of the first Lions series win since 1997 was always going to make this year very special, but to then be named in the Players World XV and also the Fans’ World XV has topped it all off, really.

“I thank the fans for voting for me, and congratulate IRPA and Ultimate Rugby for coming up with such a worthy concept.”

Etzebeth, also named last week in the Players’ World XV of the Year, echoed those sentiments, saying it was humbling to be honoured by the people who made rugby such a successful product - the players and the fans.

“I’ve really enjoyed my rugby through 2013,” he said. “It’s been a fantastic experience and this makes it all the sweeter.
“To the organisers of the Ultimate Rugby IRPA awards, and to the fans who voted for me - may I just say, ‘many thanks’.”

North was another favourite of both the fans and players alike, his eye for the line balanced by a strong defensive performance  - including a memorable tackle on Folau during the second Lions test.

“This has been a fabulous year for the Lions and Wales and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed being part of it,” he said.

“I felt honoured to be picked in the Players’ World XV and feel similarly about being recognised in the fan’s team. It’s a lovely book-end for the year.”

IRPA officials reported tens of thousands of rugby fans voted for their Player of the Year and World XV of the Year via the Ultimate Rugby free downloadable app, as part of IRPA’s first annual awards ceremony.

“The Ultimate Rugby application is a must have for rugby fans and players alike,” IRPA Executive Director Rob Nichol said.

“Not only are we impressed by the extent of live rugby updates and player profiles it provides but the platform created that allowed both players and so many fans to recognise the outstanding achievements of the world’s best for 2013 was fundamental to the success of the inaugural IRPAs.”
Ultimate Rugby IRPA Fans’ Awards:

Fans’ Player of the Year: Kieran Read

Fans’ World XV of the Year:

15 Leigh Halfpenny (WAL), 14 Israel Folau (AUS), 13 Conrad Smith (NZ), 12 Jean de Villiers (SA), 11 George North (WAL), 10 Dan Carter (NZ), 9 Will Genia (AUS), 8 Kieran Read (NZ), 7 Richie McCaw (NZ), 6 Liam Messam (NZ), 5 Alun-Wyn Jones (WAL), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Adam Jones (WAL), 2 Bismarck du Plessis (SA), 1 Alex Corbisiero (ENG)

CLICK HERE to see what the players' World XV of the year looked like.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.