Thorn leads BaaBaas v England

2015-05-30 16:01
Brad Thorn (File)

Cape Town - New Zealand's Brad Thorn will lead the Barbarians against England on Sunday in the second match of their Spring tour.

Head coach Robbie Deans made 11 changes to the invitation team that beat Ireland 22-21 at Thomond Park on Thursday night.

Veteran lock Thorn, 40, was a Rugby World Cup winner in 2011 and forms a new second row partnership with Samu Manoa in a starting line-up that totals 388 international caps from seven different nations.

England’s Ugo Monye (Harlequins) makes his final appearance in the professional game against his former international team-mates.

The Barbarians - celebrating their 125th anniversary this season - can also call on the leading try scorers in the Top 14 and the Aviva Premiership in the shape of Toulon wing David Smith and Exeter Chiefs No 8 Thomas Waldrom.

And Australia flank George Smith, who joins Wasps next season, will bring his vast 111-cap experience to the back row battle.

"It’s a privilege to lead the Barbarians against England at Twickenham,” said Thorn.

“Playing for the club is an honour and the boys did the shirt proud with the commitment and skill they showed to beat a good Ireland team earlier in the week.

“We know England have some exciting talent in their side with plenty to play for in the build-up to the World Cup but we have high standards and want to give them a real test.”



15 Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa), 14 David Smith (Toulon), 13 Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand), 12 Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa), 11 Ugo Monye (Harlequins & England), 10 Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa), 9 Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina), 8 Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs & England), 7 George Smith (Lyon & Australia), 6 George Whitelock (Panasonic Wild Knights & New Zealand), 5 Brad Thorn (Leicester Tigers & New Zealand, captain), 4 Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints and USA), 3 Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina), 2 David Ward (Harlequins), 1 Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand)

Substitutes: 16 Deon Fourie (Lyon), 17 Roberto Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina), 18 Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales), 19 Nathan Hines (Sale Sharks & Scotland), 20 Pablo Matera (Pampas & Argentina), 21 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa), 22 Stephen Brett (Lyon), 23 Yoshi Fujita (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan)



Read more on:    brad thorn  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.