Theron shuffles Baby Bok team

2014-05-09 14:26
Dawie Theron (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Baby Boks coach Dawie Theron has again reshuffled his starting line-up for the third and final match against Argentina Under-20 at City Park in Crawford on Saturday.

The South Africa Under-20s have already clinched the three-match series between the two countries after posting comprehensive 78-31 and 60-14 victories respectively over the visitors.

The friendly internationals are part of both teams’ preparations for the 2014 Junior World Championship (JWC) to be held in Auckland, New Zealand, from June 2 to 22.

Several players who started for the Junior Springboks against the Los Pumitas in Stellenbosch on Tuesday were not available due to the Vodacom Cup semi-finals this weekend, which involves the Pumas, Griquas, Blue Bulls and the Golden Lions.

Theron has only retained five players for the clash on Saturday, all of whom are in the backline. Fullback Jesse Kriel will again wear the No 15 jersey, while the powerful centre pairing of Dan Kriel and Andre Esterhuizen also remains intact.

Theron has also opted to start once more with the halfback duo of Jean-Luc du Plessis (flyhalf) and JP Smith (scrumhalf).

The reshuffled pack consists of players who have all participated in the two previous encounters with the visitors, either as part of the starting line-up in Saldanha or as replacements in Stellenbosch.

Commenting on his team’s goal for the final match, Theron said: “We want to build on the momentum gained in the previous matches. I would also want to see us maintain or even improve our tempo of play.”

The SA U20 coach said there was still hard work ahead for the squad to fine-tune their preparations.

“The coaches would really like to see the players work on improving their decision-making on attack and defence, as well as at the breakdowns,” explained Theron.

The friendly international kicks off at 16:00.

The Junior Springbok team to face Argentina Under-20 on Saturday at City Park:

15 - Jessie Kriel (Blue Bulls)
14 - Sergeal Petersen (EP Kings)
13 - Dan Kriel (Blue Bulls)
12 - Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks)
11 - Duhan van der Merwe (SARU contracted)
10 - Jean-Luc du Plessis (Sharks)
9 - JP Smith (Blue Bulls)
8 - Aidon Davis (EP Kings)
7 - Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
6 - Victor Sekekete (Golden Lions)
5 - Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Blue Bulls)
4 - Abongile Nontonkwane (Blue Bulls)
3 - Wilco Louw (Blue Bulls)
2 - Corniel Els (Blue Bulls)
1 - Pierre Schoeman (Blue Bulls)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.