Swinson out of Wallabies clash

2013-11-21 20:00
Tim Swinson (Getty Images)

Edinburgh - Lock Tim Swinson has been ruled out of the Scotland lineup to take on Australia in a Test match at Murrayfield on Saturday.

The Glasgow Warriors forward aggravated a chest injury sustained originally against Japan during training in Edinburgh on Wednesday.

His place in the starting line-up will go to Grant Gilchrist, the 23-year-old Edinburgh second-rower, who will win his fourth cap.

Gilchrist's place on the bench went to Jonny Gray, who won his first cap in the 28-0 loss to South Africa at Murrayfield last week.

But there was no place for Gray's brother, Richie, a British and Irish Lion after his faltering line-out display against the Springboks.

Later Thursday, Scotland confirmed their side after wing Tommy Seymour was passed fit after sustaining a leg injury last weekend.

One changed behind the scrum saw Duncan Weir preferred to Glasgow team-mate Ruaridh Jackson at fly-half, with Max Evans' ability to cover both centre and wing earning him a bench spot.

"The injuries we've experienced with four of our frontline backs sidelined during this series -- Stuart Hogg, Tim Visser, Alex Dunbar and Matt Scott - have meant that we've had to think long and hard about combinations and our bench this weekend," said Scotland's Australian coach Scott Johnson.



15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick de Luca, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 David Denton, 7 Kelly Brown (captain), 6 Johnnie Beattie, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant

Substitutes: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Euan Murray, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 Kieran Low, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Max Evans


15 Israel Folau, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Christian Leali'ifano, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben Mowen (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper

Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga'a, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Pady Ryan, 19 Sitaleki Timani, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nic White, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Bernard Foley

Read more on:    wallabies  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.