WATCH: New Sharks skipper has message for fans

    2018-01-26 14:47

    Cape Town - New Sharks captain Ruan Botha has called on fans to fill up Kings Park in the upcoming Super Rugby season.

    Botha was on Thursday named captain of the Sharks for the 2018 season as coach Robert du Preez named a 45-man squad.

    The 26-year-old Botha addressed Sharks on Friday and said he was looking forward to the season ahead.

    Via a video clip on the Sharks' official Twitter account, Botha had a special message for the fans:

    “I’m really proud and honoured to be captaining the Sharks this season. We’re looking forward to seeing you guys at Kings Park to fill up the stadium and playing the rugby fans will enjoy. I hope to see you guys here and we hope to entertain you guys."

    Du Preez meanwhile, also named two teams to play in warm-up clash against the Bulls in Polokwane on Saturday (18:00 kick-off).

    The coach announced a first half team and a second half team for the encounter at Peter Mokaba Stadium.

    Both teams have been shuffled, with a mixture of youth and experience

    Botha will captain the first half team, while hooker Franco Marais will captain the second half team.



    First half: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 S'busiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Juan Schoeman

    Second half: 15 Garth April, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Tristan Blewett, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Courtney Winnaar, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Wian Vosloo, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Mzamo Majola

    Extra players: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Khuta Mchunu


    15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Lizo Gqoboka

    Substitutes: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Eli Snyman, 20 Jano Venter, 21 Roelof Smit, 22 Andre Warner, 23 Marnitz Boshoff, 24 Franco Naude, 25 Jamba Ulengo, 26 Duncan Matthews

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 10 April 2020
    • Highlanders v Chiefs, 07:00
    Saturday, 11 April 2020
    • Blues v Hurricanes, 06:45
    • Reds v Rebels, 11:15
    • Sharks v Waratahs, 15:05
    • Bulls v Lions, 17:15
    Sunday, 12 April 2020
    • Brumbies v Jaguares, 08:05


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.