Waratahs shuffle pack for Sharks

    2018-03-01 10:25

    Durban - A new lock combination and loose trio will take to Kings Park on Saturday when the Waratahs take on the Sharks in a Super Rugby clash.

    Ned Hanigan will partner Tom Staniforth at lock and Michael Wells moves from No 8 to blindside flank, with Jed Holloway starting at the back of the scrum.

    Three players on the bench are set to make their Waratahs Super Rugby debut: front rower Kalivati Tawake, loose forward Will Miller and scrumhalf Mitch Short.

    “We have reviewed the Stormers game and focused on some key areas of our game this week, including our ability to get out of our territory quicker while at the same time working on ways to negate the Sharks’ strength areas,” coach Daryl Gibson told the Waratahs’ official website.

    “Last week’s win showed we have character and purpose as a team and even though there were some shaky moments, it was encouraging to see the team pull through a tight and physical match. We are looking to build on the character and positive attitude that was shown last week.”

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 15:05.





    15 Israel Folau, 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Michael Wells, 5 Tom Staniforth, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson

    Substitutes: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Kalivati Tawake, 19 Nick Palmer, 20 Will Miller, 21 Mitch Short, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Alex Newsome

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 21:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 31 March 2018
    • Blues v Sharks, Eden Park 08:35
    • Brumbies v Waratahs, Canberra Stadium 10:45
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.