Wallaby Douglas starts for Reds

    2016-07-06 07:52

    Cape Town - The Reds have named their side to face the Chiefs in their Super Rugby clash at Suncorp Stadium, with Kane Douglas set to make his debut.

    The Brisbane side have made two changes to the starting XV for Friday's clash, as Wallabies lock Douglas replaces youngster Lukhan Tui.

    In the other change, an ankle injury to regular fly-half Jake McIntyre presents an opportunity for playmaker Duncan Paia'aua to earn his first Super Rugby start. Paia'aua came on as an injury replacement for McIntyre at half time last weekend and looked comfortable in the game.

    The only other change to the matchday 23 sees the return of veteran centre Anthony Fainga'a, who has been included on the bench.

    Reds co-interim head coach Matt O’Connor said: "It's disappointing to lose Jake for this match, but we're confident in Duncan's ability. He performed well when he came off the bench to cover for Jake in the second half last week and we’re all looking forward to seeing what he can produce against the Chiefs on Friday night.

    "The Chiefs are top of the New Zealand conference for a reason. We are well aware of the threats they pose. They are a fantastic footy team.

    "What’s important for us is that we put in a performance our fans can be proud of. We’ve had a reasonable run at home this year and we want to continue that in our last two matches at Suncorp Stadium for the season."



    15 Jack Tuttle, 14 Chris Kuridrani, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Duncan Paia'aua, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Curtis Browning, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 James Slipper (captain)

    Substitutes: 16 Matt Mafi, 17 Sef Fa'agase, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Lukhan Tui, 20 Leroy Houston, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Anthony Fainga'a, 23 Campbell Magnay


    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Sam Cane (co-captain), 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Tom Sanders, 5 Taleni Seu, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Mitchell Brown, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Sam McNicol

    Read More On:  reds chiefs super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 29 May 2020
    • Blues v Highlanders, 09:05
    • Brumbies v Sunwolves, 11:15
    Saturday, 30 May 2020
    • Hurricanes v Waratahs, 06:45
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 09:05
    • Rebels v Reds, 11:15
    • Lions v Jaguares, 15:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, 17:15
    Monday, 01 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.