Sharks' Van Wyk in shock move to Hurricanes

    2019-11-12 10:56

    Cape Town - Sharks wing Kobus van Wyk has signed with the Hurricanes for the 2020 Super Rugby season.

    Van Wyk will head to New Zealand after featuring for the Sharks for the past three seasons.

    The 27-year-old previously represented the Stormers and also had a short stint in the French Top 14 with Bordeaux.

    The Wellington-based franchise confirmed their Super Rugby squad on Tuesday and their CEO Avan Lee told the website that Van Wyk's arrival came in large part due to coach John Plumtree's connections in South Africa.

    Plumtree is a former player and head coach at the Sharks.

    "John has obviously spent a lot of time in South Africa, so he knows a lot of people over there. Kobus' name came up and then John and (assistant coach) Jason Holland had a look at him play and he was really keen to come out," Lee said.

    "We're really excited by that. Super Rugby is an international competition, but having foreign players in New Zealand doesn't happen that often. He's been picked on ability first, but I think it's cool for fans to have a bit of international flavour."

    Hurricanes 2020 Super Rugby squad:

    Pouri Rakete-Stones, Fraser Armstrong, Alex Fidow, Tyrel Lomax, Ben May, Xavier Numia, Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Ricky Riccitelli, James Blackwell, Kane Le'aupepe, Liam Mitchell, Scott Scrafton, Isaia Walker-Leawere, Vaea Fifita, Du'Plessis Kirifi, Reed Prinsep, Ardie Savea, Murphy Taramai, Devan Flanders, Gareth Evans, TJ Perenara, Jamie Booth, Jonathan Taumateine, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Fletcher Smith, Ngani Laumape, Vince Aso, Billy Proctor, Peter Umaga-Jensen, Danny Toala, Kobus van Wyk, Wes Goosen, Ben Lam, Jonah Lowe, Salesi Rayasi, Jordie Barrett, James Marshall, Chase Tiatia


    Matt Proctor (Northampton), Sam Lousi (Scarlets), Toby Smith (retirement), Beauden Barrett (Blues), Finlay Christie (Blues), Chris Eves (San Diego Legion), Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (Wasps), Richard Judd (Suntory Sungoliath), Sam Henwood (NEC Green Rockets), Nehe Milner-Skudder (Toulon)


    Tyrel Lomax (Highlanders), Scott Scrafton (Blues), Murphy Taramai (Glendale Rangers), Jamie Booth (Sunwolves), Jonathan Taumateine (Chiefs), Kobus van Wyk (Sharks), Pouri Rakete-Stones (Hawke's Bay), Devan Flanders (Hawke's Bay)

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Most Read


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.