Tilse, Carraro leave Waratahs

    2016-07-22 10:37

    Cape Town - The Waratahs have confirmed the departure of prop Jeremy Tilse and wing Matt Carraro, who join a list of experienced players moving on.

    Together with club captain, Dave Dennis, Wycliff Palu, Kurtley Beale and Benn Robinson, who were recently acknowledged following their last Waratahs' home game in Round 16, the six players have contributed over 60 years of service to New South Wales (NSW) in their professional careers.

    Tilse, who has been with the club since 2006, will depart with 64 NSW and 60 Super Rugby games under his belt, following his 50th Super Rugby cap this year in Round Two against the Brumbies.

    Utility back Carraro leaves with 51 NSW and 54 Super Rugby caps after reaching his 50 game milestone against the Hurricanes in Round 16.

    Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson acknowledged the service and contribution of Tilse and Carraro who, together with Dennis, Beale, Palu and Robinson, are amongst the state's most loyal and admired rugby players.

    "Matt and Jeremy have been outstanding role models for our young players. They are true ambassadors for the game and their leadership and commitment to NSW is to be commended," he said.

    "Whilst it is a sad time, we celebrate their achievements and value everything they have given to the team.

    "This is a great opportunity for the Waratahs' next generation to begin a new era and build on the legacy that so many of our players have contributed to," according to a statement on the clubs website.

    "It's also a chance for our young leadership group to stamp their mark and provide a new energy as part of the talented and determined group of young players that we have into 2017 and beyond."

    Read More On:  waratahs super rugby rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Sunwolves v Chiefs, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 06:15
    • Hurricanes v Highlanders, Wellington Regional Stadium 08:35
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 21:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 10:45
    Saturday, 31 March 2018
    • Blues v Sharks, Eden Park 08:35
    • Brumbies v Waratahs, Canberra Stadium 10:45
    • Bulls v Stormers, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.