3 Kings players set for Super Rugby debuts

    2016-07-06 06:30

    Cape Town - The Southern Kings have announced three new inclusions to their Super Rugby squad ahead of their clash against the Lions in Johannesburg on Friday (19:00 kick-off.

    Head coach Deon Davids has made six changes to his starting line-up, including a change in captaincy with Edgar Marutlulle taking over the role after Steven Sykes was not available for personal reasons.

    Four changes in the front see Sti Sithole rotating with Schalk Ferreira at loosehead prop, while Jacobie Adriaanse returns at tighthead after missing out last week’s game against the Highlanders due to a late calf strain and Schalk Oelosfe comes in at left lock in place of Sykes.

    Making his debut for the Southern Kings and earning his first start in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition is Andile Ntsila, who joined the Kings on loan from the SWD Eagles yesterday. Davids said Ntsila would have a significant role to play as a fetcher for the team, but he was confident in his abilities.

    Davids has also opted to start with James Hall at scrumhalf, who returns from playing for the SA Under-20s in the junior world championships in Manchester, England.

    At flyhalf, Elgar Watts moves onto the bench, with Louis Fouche starting.

    Also making their Super Rugby debuts are Sintu Manjezi and Jeremy Ward, who will be on the bench for Friday’s game, having been called up from the EP Currie Cup squad.

    Marutlulle said he was looking forward to the match against the Lions, saying it was a great opportunity for the team to showcase their skills.



    15 Andriez Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx

    Substitutes: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Sylvian Mahuza


    15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Lukhanyo Am, 13 Stefan Watermeyer, 12 Shane Gates (vice-captain), 11 Wandile Mjekevu, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 James Hall, 8 Aidon Davis, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 JC Astle, 4 Schalk Oelofse, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Edgar Marutlulle (captain), 1 Sti Sithole.

    Substitutes: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Ntando Kebe, 22 Dewald Human, 23 Jeremy Ward

    Read More On:  southern kings deon davids rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 13 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00
    Saturday, 20 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.