Test stars start for Jaguares

    2016-02-24 18:34

    Cape Town - The Jaguares have announced their first ever Super Rugby team, which boasts several internationals, that will take on the Cheetahs on Friday.

    Thirteen of the starting XV represented Argentina at last year's World Cup while eleven of those started against Ireland in their quarter-final win.

    Agustín Creevy captains the side from hooker while Tomás Lavanini and Guido Petti make up a formidable lock partnership in front of flankers Pablo Matera, Rodrigo Baez and number eight Leonardo Senatore.

    It's a Pumas half-back pairing too where Martín Landajo and Nicolás Sánchez start while Jerónimo De la Fuente and Matías Moroni are the centres.

    Joaquín Tuculet, Santiago Cordero and Emiliano Boffelli are the back-three, with Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias taking a spot on the bench.


    15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Rodrigo Baez, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Lucas Noguera

    Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Matias Orlando

    Read More On:  jaguares super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 10 April 2020
    • Highlanders v Chiefs, 07:00
    Saturday, 11 April 2020
    • Blues v Hurricanes, 06:45
    • Reds v Rebels, 11:15
    • Sharks v Waratahs, 15:05
    • Bulls v Lions, 17:15
    Sunday, 12 April 2020
    • Brumbies v Jaguares, 08:05


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.