Swys: No radical changes at Lions

    2017-07-12 08:25

    Cape Town - Swys de Bruin plans to stick to the winning recipe instilled by Johan Ackermann at the Lions.

    The Johannesburg-franchise announced on Tuesday that De Bruin, currently the team’s assistant coach, will take over as head coach after this year’s Super Rugby competition.

    He will replace Ackermann, who recently signed a deal as head coach of English side Gloucester.

    “It is a huge honour and privilege for me to take over from Johan Ackermann as coach,” De Bruin told Netwerk24 on Tuesday.

    De Bruin will keep changes to a minimum though.

    “It would be dumb to make radical changes to a recipe that’s working well. I’ve also been part of this process with Ackers for five years and I know how things work here and what we do in order to be successful. I’ll make a few changes here and there, but nothing radical,” De Bruin continued.

    The services of defence coach JP Ferreira was also retained, while De Bruin confirmed that a new forwards coach would be appointed.

    Lions CEO Rudolf Straeuli also expressed his satisfaction at the appointment of De Bruin.

    "The (Lions) Company is pleased to announce that De Bruin has put pen to paper for the position of head coach at the Lions. We believe it will bring continuity and stability within the different teams in the various competitions that we are taking part in," Straeuli said via a press statement.

    Meanwhile, the Lions also announced that a number of key players had pledged their futures to the union.

    Lions contract extensions: Warren Whiteley, Albertus Smith, Andries Coetzee, Andries Ferreira (renewed), Anthony Volminck, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Corne Fourie, Courtnall Skosan (renewed), Cyle Brink, Dillon Smit (renewed), Dylan Smith, Elton Jantjies, Franco Mostert, Harold Vorster, Howard Mnisi, Jaco Kriel, Jaco van der Walt (renewed), Jacques van Rooyen (renewed), Johannes Jonker, Justin Ackerman (renewed), Lionel Mapoe (renewed), Lourens Erasmus, Malcolm Marx (renewed), Marvin Orie, Robbie Coetzee, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Ross Cronje, Ruan Ackermann, Ruan Combrinck, Ruan Dreyer, Shaun Reynolds, Sti Sithole, Sylvian Mahuza (renewed)

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.