Swys: I'll always back Whiteley as my leader

    2018-02-15 14:26

    Lloyd Burnard

    Cape Town - It is not yet clear who the Springbok captain will be for 2018, but one certainty is that Warren Whiteley will be the man to lead the Lions through Super Rugby.

    Coach Swys de Bruin, who revealed his first side of the year on Thursday ahead of Saturday's clash against the Sharks in Johannesburg, has made that much abundantly clear. 

    Whiteley, who was named Allister Coetzee's Springbok captain for 2017, injured his groin on the eve of the third and final Test against France in Johannesburg. 

    It would be enough to keep him out for the rest of the year and, in addition to being forced into giving up the national captaincy as Eben Etzebeth stepped in, Whiteley was also robbed of the chance to lead the Lions to their second Super Rugby final in as many years. 

    Instead, the 30-year-old looked on at Ellis Park as his side fell 25-17 to the Crusaders on August 5. 

    Whiteley is back now, though, and there are few men more relieved than De Bruin, who takes the reins as head coach for the first time after serving as Johan Ackerman's assistant for five years. 

    "Wherever I go in the world I will always back Warren as my leader," De Bruin told Sport24 emphatically this week.

    "He is a fantastic player and we are so lucky to have him.

    "Even when he was out injured he was such a motivation to the players. He is so keen to get going and we're delighted to have him back."

    With Duane Vermeulen expected to be back in the Springbok mix this year, Whiteley will have a lot to prove as Rassie Erasmus plots the way forward for the national side.

    Kick-off between the Lions and Sharks on Saturday is at 17:15.



    15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg


    15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Ruan Botha (captain), 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman

    Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 Tendai Mtawarira, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Daniel du Preez, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Curwin Bosch, 23 Kobus van Wyk


    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 25 May 2018
    • Crusaders v Hurricanes, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Sunwolves, AAMI Park 11:45
    • Jaguares v Sharks, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 21:40
    Saturday, 26 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Waratahs, FMG Stadium Waikato 09:35
    • Reds v Highlanders, Suncorp Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Brumbies, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Stormers v Lions, Cape Town 17:15
    Friday, 01 June 2018
    • Highlanders v Hurricanes, Forsyth Barr Stadium 09:35


    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.