Super Rugby quarter-finals: Dates, fixtures, times

    2019-06-15 20:03

    Cape Town - After 18 rounds and 120 matches of the regular season, the quarter-finalists for the 2019 Super Rugby tournament have been confirmed.

    After a competitive season the configuration of the quarter-finals was only determined after the very last match of the season when the Bulls beat the Lions to earn a bonus point win in Pretoria. 

    The four quarter-final hosts:

    The three Conference winners - ranked 1 to 3 based on total tournament points; and the best wildcard team (based on total tournament points and regardless of Conference) ranked 4. 

    The Crusaders finished the regular season as New Zealand Conference winners for the third year in a row, and the highest ranked team in the tournament, finishing on 58 points after 11 wins. The Jaguares won the South African Conference for the first time finishing with 11 wins and 51 points. In the Australian Conference, the Brumbies finished top with 10 wins and 48 points. The last quarter-final host spot was taken by the Hurricanes who finished second in New Zealand Conference with 53 points.

    The four away quarter-finalists:

    The four next best wildcard teams (based on total tournament points and regardless of Conference) ranked 5 to 8. 

    Therefore the four teams earning quarter-final places and ranking places 5 to 8 are: Bulls 41 points (South African Conference); Sharks 37 points (South African Conference); Chiefs 36 points (New Zealand Conference); and Highlanders 36 points (New Zealand Conference). 

    The quarter-finalists and their rankings are:

    1. Crusaders - New Zealand Conference winners 

    2. Jaguares - South African Conference winners

    3. Brumbies - Australian Conference winners

    4. Hurricanes 

    5. Bulls

    6. Sharks 

    7. Chiefs 

    8. Highlanders 

    2018 Super Rugby quarter-final draw:

    QF1: Crusaders (1) versus Highlanders (8)

    QF2: Hurricanes (4) versus Bulls (5)

    QF3: Jaguares (2) versus Chiefs (7)

    QF4: Brumbies (3) versus Sharks (6)

    Quarter-final match schedule (all times SA):

    Friday, June 21

    Crusaders v Highlanders - Christchurch 09:35

    Saturday, June 22

    Jaguares v Chiefs - Buenos Aires - 00:05

    Hurricanes v Bulls - Wellington - 09:35

    Brumbies v Sharks - Canberra - 12:05

    Semi-final draw:

    Pre-determined draw as follows (highest ranked team to host): 

    SF1: Winner QF1 v Winner QF2

    SF2: Winner QF3 v Winner QF4

    Final draw:

    (highest ranked team to host):

    Final: Winner SF1 v Winner SF 2

    Read More On:  super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 29 May 2020
    • Blues v Highlanders, 09:05
    • Brumbies v Sunwolves, 11:15
    Saturday, 30 May 2020
    • Hurricanes v Waratahs, 06:45
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 09:05
    • Rebels v Reds, 11:15
    • Lions v Jaguares, 15:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, 17:15
    Monday, 01 June 2020
    • TBC v TBC, TBC 14:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    Debate rages! Who is the greatest ever Springbok hooker ... John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis or someone else perhaps?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.