Sunwolves bring in SA lock for Blues visit

    2018-04-12 11:14

    Cape Town - Sunwolves head coach Jamie Joseph has made just one change to his starting line-up for their Super Rugby clash with the Blues in Tokyo on Saturday.

    Kick-off is at 05:05 SA time.

    Despite suffering a 50-29 defeat to the Waratahs last weekend, Joseph has kept changes to a minimum with his only alteration made in the second-row where Grant Hattingh comes in for Sam Wykes.

    Scrumhalf Yutaka Nagare captains the side and he will form a halfback partnership with Yu Tamura while Timothy Lafaele and Michael Little will continue as the midfield combination.

    Kotaro Matsushima starts at fullback again and he is joined in the back three by wings Lomano Lemeki and Semisi Masirewa.

    In the forwards, Hattingh and James Moore are the starting locks while Shota Horie packs down at hooker alongside Jiwon Koo and Craig Millar, who are the starting props.

    In the back-row, Kazuki Himeno continues at No 8 while Lappies Labuschagne and Yoshitaka Tokunaga are the two flanks.

    There are three changes on the replacements bench with Willie Britz coming in for Ed Quirk as the replacement loose forward while William Tupou takes over from Hosea Saumaki as back-line cover and Shintaro Ishihara is preferred to Keita Inagaki as the back-up prop.



    15 Kotaro Matsushima, 14 Semisi Masirewa, 13 Timothy Lafaele, 12 Michael Little, 11 Lomano Lemeki, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Yutaka Nagare (captain), 8 Kazuki Himeno, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 James Moore, 3 Jiwon Koo, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Craig Millar

    Substitutes: 16 Jaba Bregvadse, 17 Shintaro Ishihara, 18 Nikoloz Khatiashvili, 19 Wimpie van der Walt, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Hayden Parker, 23 William Tupou


    15 Michael Collins, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Orbyn Leger, 12 Rieko Ioane, 11 Matt Duffie, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Jonathan Ruru, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Kara Pryor, 6 Jimmy Tupou, 5 Josh Goodhue, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2 James Parsons (captain), 1 Pauliasi Manu 

    Substitutes: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Ross Wright, 18 Mike Tamoaieta, 19 Ben Neenee, 20 Dalton Papali'i, 21 Sam Nock, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 TJ Faiane

    Read More On:  sunwolves super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Level5 Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.