Stormers down Chiefs to claim massive Kiwi scalp

    2017-04-08 19:10

    Cape Town - The Newlands faithful were treated to one of the best rugby matches in recent memory as the Stormers beat the Chiefs 34-26 in a seven try thriller filled with some incredible skill. 

    As it happened: Stormers v Chiefs

    In a brilliant display of running rugby from both sides, the Stormers scored tries through Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Siya Kolisi, Robert du Preez and SP Marais.

    Du Preez added four conversions while SP Marais kicked two long range penalties. 

    The Chiefs scored tries through Tony Pulu (2) and James Lowe.

    Aaron Cruden added a conversion and  two penalties while Damian McKenzie also added a three-pointer.

    The match will long be remembered for two incredible tries.

    The first, scored by Toni Palu was started by McKenzie on the Chiefs tryline. The ball passed through the hands of a number of Chiefs players hands before Palu scored close to the poles.

    The second came from the home side, with Dillyn Leyds throwing a 20m reverse pass while seated on the ground, sending Marais over in the left-hand corner.

    The Stormers, along with the Crusaders, are now the only unbeaten teams left in Super Rugby.

    Next week they play the Lions at Newlands while the Chiefs tackle the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.


    Stormers 34

    Tries: Notshe, Kolisi, du Preez, Marais

    Conversions: du Preez (4)

    Penalties: Marais (2)

    Chiefs 26

    Tries: Pulu (2), Lowe

    Conversions: Cruden

    Penalties: Cruden (2), McKenzie



    15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Cobus Wiese, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

    Substitutes: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Dan Kriel


    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Mitchell Brown, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Sam McNicol, 23 Shaun Stevenson

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 23 March 2018
    • Crusaders v Bulls, AMI Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Sharks, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 March 2018
    • Sunwolves v Chiefs, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Hurricanes v Highlanders, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Stormers v Reds, Newlands Stadium 17:15
    • Jaguares v Lions, Velez Sarsfield 23:40
    Friday, 30 March 2018
    • Chiefs v Highlanders, Waikato Stadium 08:35
    • Rebels v Hurricanes, AAMI Park 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts


    “The Reds were not allowed to board a flight from Brazil to Johannesburg because they had not received yellow fever vaccinations. ”

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.