Sharks stumble their way to victory

    2016-04-22 11:56

    Cape Town - The Sharks escaped with a narrow victory against a 14-man Highlanders side in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash in Dunedin on Friday.

    As it happened: Highlanders v Sharks

    The Sharks won 15-14 after leading 6-3 at half-time.

    The Highlanders were reduced to 14 men after centre Jason Emery was shown a red card after a horror mid-air collision with Sharks fullback Willie le Roux in the 13th minute.

    The Sharks appeared insistent on doing their level best to make life difficult for themselves - and their supporters - when they were reduced to 14 men on two occasions after lock Stephan Lewies and centre JP Pietersen were both shown yellow cards.

    The Sharks failed to score a try despite their numerical advantage and had to rely on the boot of flyhalf Garth April who landed five penalties.

    The Highlanders replied with a try by wing Matt Faddes and three penalties by flyhalf Lima Sopoaga.

    The Sharks picked up four points for their victory, while the Highlanders picked up a single point for losing by seven or fewer points.

    In next weekend's Round 10 action, the Sharks travel to Yarrow Stadium to face the Chiefs (Friday, April 29 at 09:35), while the Highlanders host the Brumbies at Rugby Park in Invercargill (Saturday, April 30 at 09:35).



    15. Ben Smith (co-captain), 14. Matt Faddes, 13. Malakai Fekitoa, 12. Jason Emery, 11. Jack Wilson, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Liam Squire, 7. Shane Christie (co-captain), 6. Elliot Dixon, 5. Joe Wheeler, 4. Tom Franklin, 3. Josh Hohneck, 2. Ash Dixon, 1. Daniel Lienert-Brown

    Substitutes: 16. Liam Coltman, 17. Craig Millar, 18. Ross Geldenhuys, 19. Alex Ainley, 20. Dan Pryor, 21. Fumiaki Tanaka, 22. Hayden Parker, 23. Patrick Osborne


    15. Willie le Roux, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Garth April, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Philip van der Walt, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Tendai Mtawarira (captain)

    Substitutes: 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Hyron Andrews, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Michael Claassens, 22. Joe Pietersen, 23. S’bura Sithole

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    Sunday, 02 February 2020
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 01:00


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Which team will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.