Sharks move young giant to tighthead

    2018-01-26 08:35

    Cape Town - Thomas du Toit will be used solely as a tighthead prop in 2018, Sharks coach Robert du Preez has revealed.

    Du Preez on Thursday named a 45-man squad ahead of the 2018 Super Rugby season.

    The 22-year-old Du Toit, who is listed on the Sharks' official website as 1.87m and 136kg, played mainly as a loosehead in 2017.

    But with Coenie Oosthuizen sidelined with a serious knee injury, Du Toit will get a chance to establish himself in the tighthead position.

    Speaking at a press conference in Durban on Thursday, Du Preez said the decision to move Du Toit to tighthead was done after consultations with SA Rugby’s scrum guru Pieter de Villiers.

    “Thomas is 100% committed to the change,” Du Preez said.

    Meanwhile, lock Ruan Botha was named captain for the season.

    “Ruan was handed the captaincy armband for last year’s Currie Cup campaign and led from the front with strong performances and showed growth as a leader, as the competition progressed,” Du Preez said.
    “I’ve been impressed with his maturity and hunger to improve not only his game, but to take forward the team’s ambitions as well.”

    The Sharks play two warm-up matches prior to the start of their Super Rugby campaign, which commences against the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday, February 17.  

    The first warm-up match is against the Bulls in Polokwane followed by a trip to Hong Kong to play Racing 92.

    Sharks squad:


    Akker van der Merwe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Daniel du Preez, Franco Marais, Gideon Koegelenberg, Hyron Andrews, Jacques Vermeulen, Jean Droste, Jean-Luc du Preez, John-Hubert Meyer, Juan Schoeman, Keegan Daniel, Kerron van Vuuren, Khuta Mchunu, Lubabalo 'Tera' Mtembu, Mzamo Majola, Philip van der Walt, Ross Geldenhuys, Ruan Botha (captain), Stephan Lewies, Tendai 'Beast' Mtawarira, Thomas du Toit, Tyler Paul, Wian Vosloo


    Andre Esterhuizen, Cameron Wright, Courtney Winnaar, Curwin Bosch, Garth April, Grant Williams, Jeremy Ward, Johan Deysel, Kobus van Wyk, Leolin Zas, Louis Schreuder, Lukhanyo Am, Lwazi Mvovo, Makazole Mapimpi, Marius Louw, Michael Claassens, Rhyno Smith, Robert du Preez, S'busiso Nkosi, Tristan Blewett

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.