Sharks grind out derby win

    2017-03-25 19:09

    Cape Town - The Sharks have ground out a well deserved win 38-30 over the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein with a strong second half display paving the way for victory.

    As it happened: Cheetahs v Sharks

    The Cheetahs suffered a blow before the match with winger Sergeal Petersen pulling out through injury. 

    Half way through the first half, the Sharks had run into a 15-3 lead thanks to converted tries by Lwazi Mvovo and Kobus van Wyk as well as a Curwin Bosch penalty. 

    The Cheetahs fought back through a try by captain Francois Venter, converted by Zeilinga while the pivot also landed a penalty to bring the score to 15-13 in favour of the visitors. 

    A converted try on half-time by JW Jonker handed the Bloemfontein side a 20-15 lead.

    They extended that lead early in the second half with another Zeilinga penalty. 

    The Sharks then kicked into gear with converted tries by Van Wyk, Daniel du Preez and three further penalties by Bosch for a 38-23 with ten minutes remaining.

    The home side brought themselves within striking distance after a Raymond Rhule try with a minute to go but the Sharks held out for victory. 

    Next week the Cheetahs travel to Cape Town to face the Stormers while the Sharks are in Johannesburg for another local clash, this time against the Lions. 



    Tries: Francois Venter, JW Jonker, Raymond Rhule

    Conversions: Fred Zeilinga (3)

    Penalties: Fred Zeilinga (3)


    Tries: Lwazi Mvovo, Jacobus van Wyk (2), Daniel du Preez

    Conversions: Curwin Bosch (3)

    Penalties: Curwin Bosch (4)



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 JW Jonker, 13 Francois Venter (captain), 12 Nico Lee, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Johan Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Ox Nche

    Substitutes: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Niell Jordaan, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Niel Marais, 23 Rayno Benjamin


    15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Tera Mtembu (captain), 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Tendai Mtawarira 

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Daniel du Preez, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Garth April

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.