Schalk: Chiefs most intense of NZ teams

    2016-07-22 13:02

    Cape Town - Schalk Burger believes that the Stormers will meet the most intense New Zealand side in Super Rugby when they take on the Chiefs in Saturday's quarter-final at Newlands. 

    If the Stormers lose it will be Burger's final match for the franchise as he makes his move to Saracens next season.

    He will captain the side, and he spoke this week about the challenge that awaits. 

    "The Chiefs is the team that has probably got the most intensity from New Zealand and they're also aggressive," Burger said.

    "The guys come out there and they physically confront you. They've always been that way ... New Zealand style.

    "There's a lot being said about the backs and their style but they are tough sides to play against up front.

    "As Fleckie mentioned earlier, they don't have a weakness. We're preparing as well as we can but we can't do anything about the Chiefs. It's all about us this weekend and how well we can play and if we play as well as we can we know that we can put teams under pressure."

    Burger also expressed faith in the Stormers side.

    "This is the team that's been doing the business the last couple of weeks,"he said.

    "That's why we played against the Kings with the strongest possible team we could select at the time and this is more of the same."

    Kickoff on Saturday is at 19:00.



    15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger (co-captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Ezebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Alistair Vermaak.

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Nizaam Carr, 22 Louis Schreuder, 23 Brandon Thomson


    15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sam McNicol, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (cc), 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Sam Cane (cc), 6 Taleni Seu, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane HamesSubstitutes: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Tevita Koloamatangi, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Toni Pulu, 23 Shaun Stevenson

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 21 February 2020
    • Crusaders v Highlanders, Orangetheory Stadium 08:05
    Saturday, 22 February 2020
    • Rebels v Sharks, Mars Stadium 05:45
    • Chiefs v Brumbies, FMG Stadium Waikato 08:05
    • Reds v Sunwolves, Suncorp Stadium 10:15
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Bulls v Blues, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    Friday, 28 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Rebels, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Waratahs v Lions, Bankwest Stadium 10:15


    16 February 2020
    15 February 2020
    14 February 2020
    09 February 2020
    08 February 2020
    07 February 2020
    02 February 2020
    01 February 2020
    31 January 2020


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Stormers (Q)
    • Jaguares (WC)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Lions
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Which team will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.