SANZAAR to finalise latest Super Rugby revamp

    2018-08-27 06:45

    Wellington - Plans for Super Rugby's latest format revamp should be finalised in November, New Zealand Rugby chief executive Steve Tew said on Monday.

    ALSO READ: All Blacks captain calls for Super Rugby conference system to be scrapped

    The southern hemisphere competition's governing body SANZAAR has spent more than a year developing a blueprint to ensure Super Rugby's long-term future when the current broadcast deal expires in 2020.

    Tew said the SANZAAR board hoped to sign off on the plans when it meets in London in November.

    "At the moment our goal is to determine the final structure and make-up of Super Rugby in November... that's the timetable we're working to," he told reporters.

    "I've said it before and been wrong but that's what we're hoping for."

    Tew was tight-lipped about the options being considered, saying debate was ongoing between SANZAAR's four member nations - South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Argentina.

    "We've got four countries that all have different imperatives and positions and it's not helpful to have that conversation in the public domain," he said.

    The decisions reached in London will be crucial to the survival of Super Rugby, which has struggled with dwindling viewers in recent years amid constant tinkering with its format.

    The competition straddles 16 time zones and four continents, resulting in complaints of lopsided contests, taxing travel times and a fragmented three-conference system seen as too complex.

    SANZAAR chief Andy Marinos said earlier this year that all options were on the table as the organisation seeks a vision to take Super Rugby to 2030.

    No details have been released but one possibility is reportedly a 20-team, four-conference format featuring at least one US side.

    There is also a push among some rugby fans to include a composite Pacific islands team featuring players from Fiji, Samoa and Tonga.

    A common suggestion from players and coaches this year has been to dump the conference system in favour of a simple round-robin, where teams play each other once.

    Super Rugby began as the Super Six in 1986, then become Super 10 when South Africa re-entered the rugby world in 1993.

    When the newly formed SANZAR (without Argentina) took control in 1996 it became Super 12, then a decade later it was Super 14, and Super 15 in 2011.

    It featured 18 teams and a conference system in 2016 and 2017 before being scaled back to 15 sides this year.

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Breaking News


    Friday, 24 May 2019
    • Chiefs v Reds, FMG Stadium Waikato 09:35
    • Brumbies v Bulls, GIO Stadium 11:35
    Saturday, 25 May 2019
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Chichibunomiya Rugby Stadium 07:15
    • Crusaders v Blues, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Waratahs v Jaguares, Allianz Stadium 11:45
    • Stormers v Highlanders, Cape Town 15:05
    • Sharks v Lions, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Friday, 31 May 2019
    • Blues v Bulls, Eden Park 09:35
    • Rebels v Waratahs, AAMI Park 11:45


    18 May 2019
    17 May 2019
    12 May 2019
    11 May 2019
    10 May 2019
    04 May 2019
    03 May 2019
    27 April 2019
    26 April 2019
    20 April 2019
    19 April 2019
    13 April 2019
    12 April 2019
    06 April 2019
    05 April 2019
    30 March 2019
    29 March 2019
    24 March 2019
    23 March 2019
    22 March 2019
    16 March 2019
    15 March 2019
    09 March 2019
    08 March 2019
    02 March 2019
    01 March 2019
    23 February 2019
    22 February 2019
    16 February 2019
    15 February 2019


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.