Sam Carter hits 100 for Brumbies

    2018-04-26 07:54

    Cape Town - Captain Sam Carter will play his 100th Brumbies Super Rugby match on Saturday evening as the reigning champions Crusaders visit GIO Stadium. 

    Kick-off is at 11:45 SA time.

    Carter will lead the team from the second row as he becomes just the twelfth player to reach the 100-cap milestone for the club, with head coach Dan McKellar making two changes for the big match. 

    The Brumbies will be without Australian flank David Pocock for the encounter with the dynamic flanker ruled out of action due to a calf strain. 

    The absence of Pocock has forced a reshuffle in the Brumbies backrow with Lachlan McCaffrey, Rob Valetini and Ben Hyne also all unavailable for selection. Blake Enever will therefore slot into the number six jersey with Tom Cusack moving to the other side of the scrum. 

    There’s one other change to the team that started against the Jaguares at the same venue last Sunday, with centre Andrew Smith beginning his first Super Rugby match since the quarter final clash against the Hurricanes at GIO Stadium last year. 

    There are four changes amongst the replacements from the squad that faced the Argentinians with prop Ben Alexander in line to win his 148th cap, should he take to the field.

    Youngster Faalelei Sione, fresh from a hat-trick of tries for Royals in the Griffin Legal John I Dent Cup, is the other front-row replacement. 

    Lolo Fakaosilea is set for his first Super Rugby action since the match against the Chiefs in Hamilton in Round 17 last season, whilst Andy Muirhead is named in place of Smith on the bench as Kyle Godwin drops out of the match day squad. 

    In the starting XV, Isi Naisarani continues in the backrow alongside Enever and Cusack in a pack that looks strong and robust.

    Carter is partnered at lock by Rory Arnold, with the front-row of Scott Sio, Folau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa unchanged. 

    Behind the scrum, Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera continue as the half-back pairing with Smith joined in the centre by Tevita Kuridrani.

    Out wide Chance Peni, Henry Speight and Tom Banks will aim to provide the thrust and pace to trouble the Crusaders defence. 

    The Brumbies last defeated the Crusaders in Canberra in 2009 with the New Zealanders having the upper hand in recent years. However, a new-look Brumbies outfit pushed the eventual champions close in Christchurch at the beginning of 2017 and will enter the fixture in a positive frame of mind.



    15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Blake Enever, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Faalelei Sione, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Andrew Muirhead


    15 David Havili, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Tim Bateman, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Seta Tamanivalu, 10 Mike Delany, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Tim Perry

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Makalio, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Mitch Hunt, 23 Manasa Mataele

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.