Sam Cane citing dismissed
Cape Town - A SANZAAR Judicial Hearing has found Chiefs skipper Sam Can not
guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, after he was cited
during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.
No further sanction has been imposed on the player.
Cane was alleged to have
contravened Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, when he made contact with the
Jaguares prop Nahuel Chaparro at a tackle contest during the match between the
Jaguares and Chiefs at Velez Sarsfield in Buenos Aires on Saturday.
The Judicial Committee of Michael
Heron QC and David Croft held the hearing by video conference on
In their finding, the Judicial committee ruled
"The judicial committee tonight has
considered the citing of Sam Cane for dangerous tackling contrary to Law
10.4(e). The committee determined that it was not satisfied the citing
was made out.
"A full decision will be issued in due course. In summary, the
Committee found that the incident was an unfortunate combination of Mr Cane
joining to create a maul in a permissible manner at the same time as Mr
Chaparro fell rapidly to the ground.
"The contact between the shoulder of Mr Cane and the head of Mr Chaparro
was unintentional and not able to be foreseen for that reason.
"The Committee considered that what occurred could not be described as a
tackle because Mr Chaparro was not the ball carrier.
"The Committee considered whether the contact between Mr Cane and Mr
Chaparro could constitute foul play other than that described in the
citing. It was not satisfied that any other ground of foul play fairly
described what occurred here.
"For those reasons, the citing was dismissed.