SA's Super Rugby decision set for July 7

    2017-06-14 10:20

    Cape Town - SA Rugby has called a special general meeting for next month to confirm the four South African entrants into a revised Super Rugby competition from 2018.

    The meeting will take place in Cape Town on July 7, 2017.

    In a press statement released on Wednesday, SA Rugby said the general meeting has the constitutional responsibility for “determining the SA teams to participate in Super Rugby”.

    Jurie Roux, CEO of SA Rugby, said the special general meeting would decide on a proposal from the executive council which, in turn, would have received a recommendation on the participants from the franchise committee, whose membership is representatives of the Super Rugby teams.

    The proposal will also be debated by the non-franchise committee - comprising the CEOs of the 14 provincial rugby unions - before reaching the special general meeting.


    While nothing has been made official, the general consensus is that the two South African teams excluded from the competition will be the Cheetahs and the Southern Kings.

    There is a strong possibility for those two franchises to the PRO12 competition, Sport24 understands.

    The PRO12 is a European competition that currently includes club teams from Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

    It looks set to be rebranded PRO14.

    Read More On:  sa rugby super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Saturday, 04 April 2020
    • Stormers v Waratahs, 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, 17:15
    • Jaguares v Rebels, 23:40
    Sunday, 05 April 2020
    • Sunwolves v Reds, 07:15
    Friday, 10 April 2020
    • Highlanders v Chiefs, 07:00


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Sharks (Q)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Bulls
    • Lions

    Opinion Poll

    After 6 weeks of Super Rugby action, which South African team appears most likely to challenge for overall honours?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.