Remarkable Bulls comeback floors Jaguares

    2018-07-07 16:59

    Pretoria - The Jaguares missed the opportunity to overtake the Lions in the South African Conference after a disappointing 43-34 Super Rugby defeat to the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld.

    The Argentines were exceptional in the first quarter, going 19-0 ahead via Nicolas Sanchez, Pablo Matera and Gonzalo Bertranou tries, but the hosts hit back to remarkably lead 21-19 by the break.

    Johnny Kotze, Embrose Papier and Jesse Kriel all touched down for a two-point advantage before Handre Pollard extended that buffer in the second period.

    Bertranou completed his brace after the interval but efforts from Jamba Ulengo and Marco van Staden effectively secured the victory. Although Emiliano Boffelli kicked a penalty for the Jaguares, Ulengo’s second ended the match as a contest, even though Matera had the final say for the visitors.

    Following a disappointing season, this is a timely fillip for the South African team. John Mitchell’s men were constantly opened up by the Sunwolves in the previous round and those deficiencies were once again evident in Pretoria, but they were eventually rectified.

    The Jaguares were rampant early on. Their accuracy was impressive and, in comparison to their performances in the Argentina jersey, Ledesma’s charges were a threat on attack.

    They duly scored two tries inside 10 minutes, both of which were excellently worked. The Bulls’ rearguard, and particularly Divan Rossouw, will have been disappointed by the first, but Sanchez did well to get on the outside and cross the whitewash in the right-hand corner.

    With confidence high, the Jaguares went wide from the kick-off and put together a wonderful move. Sanchez picked out Javier Ortega Desio, allowing the No 8 to break the gain-line, and he combined with Bertranou to send Matera over.

    After creating the second try, the scrumhalf was rewarded for his superb support lines, receiving Tomas Lezana’s pass to touch down unopposed.

    To their credit, the South Africans responded and, inspired by Warrick Gelant, got themselves back into the contest as the fullback fed Ulengo and the wing gave Kotze a simple run to the line.

    The Jaguares were still in control but they began to make errors and the hosts capitalised with Papier scampering across the whitewash and Kriel doing the same, after he intercepted a stray pass.

    Mitchell’s charges opened the second half as they ended the first and earned a penalty opportunity, which Pollard kicked, for a 24-19 advantage.

    Ledesma’s side hit back, however, when Emiliano Boffelli spotted some space in the opposition defence and Bertranou was once again on hand to finish off.

    The Bulls were much improved, though, and two quick-fire tries from Ulengo and Van Staden gave them a 10-point buffer heading into the final quarter.

    Boffelli reduced the arrears from the tee but the hosts completed a deserved win when Ulengo touched down, despite Matera's late consolation score.

    In next weekend's final round-robin action, the Bulls travel to Johannesburg to face the Lions, while the Jaguares face the Sharks in Durban (July 14).



    Tries: Johnny Kotze, Embrose Papier, Jesse Kriel, Jamba Ulengo (2), Marco van Staden

    Conversions: Handre Pollard (5)

    Penalty: Pollard


    Tries: Nicolas Sanchez, Pablo Matera (2), Gonzalo Bertranou (2)

    Conversions: Sanchez (3)

    Penalty: Emiliano Boffelli



    15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Johnny Kotze, 11 Divan Rossouw, 10 Handre Pollard (captain), 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Pierre Schoeman

    Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima/Matthys Basson, 18 Mornay Smit, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Nick de Jager, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Dries Swanepoel


    15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

    Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Javier Diaz, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Tomas Lavanini, 20 Marcos Kremer, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Matias Orlando, 23 Sebastian Cancelliere

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 August 2018
    28 July 2018
    21 July 2018
    20 July 2018
    14 July 2018
    13 July 2018
    07 July 2018
    06 July 2018
    30 June 2018
    29 June 2018
    03 June 2018
    02 June 2018
    01 June 2018
    26 May 2018
    25 May 2018
    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Lions (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Stormers
    • Bulls

    Opinion Poll

    Who will win the 2018 Rugby Championships?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.