Reds lock Kane Douglas returns to starting XV

    2018-05-31 08:46

    Cape Town - The Reds have made two changes to the starting XV for this Saturday's derby clash with the Waratahs in the final match before the June Test window. 

    One change has been made to the starting forward pack, with lock Kane Douglas returning to the starting side, shifting Harry Hockings to the bench. 

    In the backs, 22-year-old scrumhalf Moses Sorovi has earned his first start, with Ben Lucas moving to the bench. Meanwhile, Hamish Stewart and Jono Lance have swapped positions.

    Stewart returns to the starting flyhalf jersey for the second time this season, with Lance assuming the fullback role. 

    In the reserves, hooker Alex Mafi has returned to the match day squad for the first time since Round 13, with Andrew Ready dropping out of the 23. 

    Utility back Jayden Ngamanu has also returned to the squad for the first time since Round eight, with Aidan Toua dropping out. 

    Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s a big game this weekend. Queensland v New South Wales is one of those games everyone marks down on their calendar. We’re excited to be playing them at Suncorp Stadium, in our traditional maroon strip. 

    “We haven’t made a lot of changes for the match because we feel the team has put in two big efforts where we’ve just fallen short in recent weeks. 

    “It’s a great opportunity for Moses to get his first start. He’s an exciting young prospect and we felt he deserved the chance to show what he can do from the kick off. We also felt it was the right time to give Hamish another opportunity in the starting flyhalf jersey. It’s only his second start at flyhalf. He enjoyed his experience against the Lions and this is another chance in the 10 jersey. 

    “This is our last match at Suncorp Stadium for a number of weeks so it would be great to see a lot of support from our home crowd.”



    15 Jono Lance, 14 Izaia Perese, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Jordan Petaia, 10 Hamish Stewart, 9 Moses Sorovi, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 George Smith, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 JP Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Sef Fa’agase, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Caleb Timu, 21 Liam Wright, 22 Ben Lucas, 23 Jayden Ngamanu



    Read More On:  reds waratahs super rugby rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy


    Friday, 31 January 2020
    • Blues v Chiefs, Eden Park 08:05
    • Brumbies v Reds, GIO Stadium 10:15
    • Sharks v Bulls, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 19:10
    Saturday, 01 February 2020
    • Sunwolves v Rebels, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium 05:45
    • Crusaders v Waratahs, Trafalgar Park 08:05
    • Stormers v Hurricanes, Cape Town 15:05
    • Jaguares v Lions, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 23:40
    Friday, 07 February 2020
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 08:05
    • Brumbies v Rebels, GIO Stadium 10:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Jaguares (wc)
    • Lions
    • Sharks
    • Stormers

    Opinion Poll

    How will the Springboks fare at this year's Rugby World Cup in Japan?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.