Pocock returns to Brumbies XV for for ‘Canes clash

    2019-02-27 11:50

    Cape Town - Brumbies boss Dan McKellar has made four changes to the side that beat the Chiefs in stunning fashion at GIO Stadium last weekend for their clash against the Hurricanes in Wellington on Friday.

    Kick-off is at 08:35 SA time.

    2019 recruit Pete Samu is set to make his run-on debut for the Brumbies at six alongside David Pocock, who is fit enough to rejoin the starting XV.

    In what is a clear indication of the Brumbies strength and depth, Scott Sio comes in for James Slipper at loosehead prop having gained some match fitness off the pine the past two weeks.

    Sio will form a familiar looking front-row with fellow internationals Folau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa, who start at hooker and tighthead, respectively.

    Slipper, one of the Brumbies’ best performers to date this season, is named in the finishing group and will likely play a pivotal role from the reserves.

    At lock, Blake Enever swaps with Sam Carter to partner Rory Arnold in the second-row, following some key impacts off the bench so far in 2019.

    Darcy Swain earns Enever’s place in the replacements after impressing in the pre-season and with the Canberra Vikings in the National Rugby Championship.

    Joining Samu and Pocock in the loose forwards is Lachlan McCaffrey at No 8. His play and leadership has caught the eye of Brumbies fans this season and will look to link up with an exciting Brumbies backline, which is unchanged for Round 3.

    Joe Powell drove the Brumbies pack all day against the Chiefs and renews his partnership with Brumbies skipper Christian Lealiifano.

    Irae Simone and Tevita Kuridrani start once again in the centres, Kuridrani having bagged a brace of tries from 13 at GIO Stadium.

    Andy Muirhead and Chance Peni are retained on the wings and at fullback is the impressive Tom Banks.

    In the replacements, Josh Mann-Rea will provide cover at hooker with Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin taking his place as the tighthead prop reserve.

    Tom Cusack reverts to the bench this week with Pocock’s inclusion after being one of the Brumbies’ standout performers the previous week.

    The rest of the replacements remain unchanged with Matt Lucas, Wharenui Hawera and Tom Wright providing some potentially crucial spark for the backline.



    15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Vince Aso, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Liam Mitchell, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles (captain), 1 Chris Eves

    Substitutes: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Reed Prinsep, 21 Richard Judd, 22 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23 Wes Goosen


    15 Tom Banks, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 David Pocock, 6 Pete Samu, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 James Slipper, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Tom Wright

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Friday, 22 March 2019
    • Blues v Highlanders, Eden Park 08:35
    Saturday, 23 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Stormers, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Crusaders, Sydney Cricket Ground 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Lions, Singapore National Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Chiefs, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Sharks v Rebels, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Sunday, 24 March 2019
    • Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium 07:05


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Jaguares

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.