Pocock named in Brumbies Super Rugby squad

    2017-11-30 11:19

    Cape Town - The Brumbies will welcome nine new faces into the squad for the 2018 Super Rugby season, including returning Wallaby back-rower David Pocock, as head coach Dan McKellar prepares for his first season in charge of the two-time champions.

    Pocock, who has 65 caps for Australia, will be back in Brumbies colours following his year’s sabbatical and is part of a formidable looking pack that includes eight Wallaby internationals.

    Pocock could potentially be joined by fellow Wallabies Scott Sio, Allan Alaalatoa, Ben Alexander, Josh Mann-Rea, Rory Arnold, Sam Carter and Blake Enever with the strength in depth throughout the forwards evident.

    Three of the new signings are up front with the former-Force trio of Mees Erasmus (prop), Richie Arnold (lock), and Isi Naisarani (No 8) joined by Lachlan McCaffrey (flank) who returns to the Brumbies after a three-year absence playing in Europe.

    Rookie hooker Folau Fainga’a joins fresh off an inclusion in the Wallabies train-on squad during the Rugby Championship following impressive form with Canberra Vikings in the National Rugby Championship.

    Amongst the backs, the Brumbies faithful will no doubt be delighted to see Christian Lealiifano return to full fitness and with some much-needed playing time under his belt in the PRO14 for Ulster. The pivot, who is two-points shy of 800 in his career for the Australian Capital Territory-based club, could have a huge impact.

    New faces in the back-line include scrumhalf Matt Lucas, an off-season capture from the Waratahs who will push Wallaby youngster Joe Powell for a starting berth, whilst outside backs Chance Peni and James Verity-Amm join from the Force.

    International stars Tevita Kuridrani, Kyle Godwin and Henry Speight are included whilst the continuing emergence of talented speedsters Tom Banks and Andrew Muirhead will be worth keeping an eye on.

    There’s a plenty of youth amongst the squad with Tuggeranong Vikings lock Darcy Swain and promising scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan aiming to push their more established teammates for a place in the matchday squad.

    In the coaching department, former assistant McKellar takes over from Stephen Larkham as head coach. He is joined by Laurie Fisher as forwards coach and Peter Hewat as backs coach while Peter Ryan (defence) and Dan Palmer (scrum) continue their important roles within the organisation.

    The Brumbies pre-season fixtures kick-off on Saturday, February 3 with a clash against the Rebels at Seiffert Oval in Queanbeyan.

    Brumbies 2018 Super Rugby squad:


    Robbie Abel, Allan Alaalatoa, Ben Alexander, Richard Arnold, Rory Arnold, Sam Carter, Tom Cusack, Blake Enever, Mees Erasmus, Folau Fainga’a, Lolo Fakaosilea, Ben Hyne, Leslie Leulua’Iali’i-Makin, Josh Mann-Rea, Nic Mayhew, Lachlan McCaffrey, Isireli Naisarani, David Pocock, Scott Sio, Darcy Swain, Rob Valetini


    Tom Banks, James Dargaville, Kyle Godwin, Wharenui Hawera, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Ryan Lonergan, Matt Lucas, Andrew Muirhead, Chance Peni-Ataera, Joe Powell, Andrew Smith, Henry Speight, Lausii Taliauli, James Verity-Amm

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 25 May 2018
    • Crusaders v Hurricanes, AMI Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Sunwolves, AAMI Park 11:45
    • Jaguares v Sharks, Estadio Jose Amalfitani 21:40
    Saturday, 26 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Waratahs, FMG Stadium Waikato 09:35
    • Reds v Highlanders, Suncorp Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Brumbies, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Stormers v Lions, Cape Town 17:15
    Friday, 01 June 2018
    • Highlanders v Hurricanes, Forsyth Barr Stadium 09:35


    19 May 2018
    18 May 2018
    12 May 2018
    11 May 2018
    05 May 2018
    04 May 2018
    28 April 2018
    27 April 2018
    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.