Phipps returns for Waratahs in Aussie derby

    2018-04-11 11:01

    Cape Town - The inclusion of scrumhalf Nick Phipps is the only change to the Waratahs matchday squad for Saturday’s derby with arch-rivals the Reds at the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

    Phipps, who has been sidelined for a lengthy period with a calf injury, replaces Mitchell Short in the only change to the side that beat the Sunwolves in Tokyo last Saturday.

    Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson said naming an unchanged starting line-up was a reflection of performance.

    "Firstly being able to name an unchanged line-up is a reward to the guys for performing for us," he explained.

    "We’ve had six games, four of those have been on the road and this will only be our third game at home so it’s nice to be back home, particularly for such as prestigious game. 

    "Having the opportunity for the guys to play on the Sydney Cricket Ground for the first time since 1983 is very exciting, and it’s great to be a part of that. 

    "Secondly, to welcome Nick (Phipps) back. It’s been a long, hard road for him. He’s had six to eight weeks of nearly being there and he’s finally passed fit and he had a good trot last week for Sydney University."

    Saturday’s game at the SCG will be the first time since 1983 that New South Wales and Queensland have played at the iconic venue.

    "It’s going to be new for everyone once you get over the fact that it’s a different ground, at the end of the day, it’s still going to be a rectangle," added Gibson.

    "We are looking forward to what will be a very physical encounter. It (the SCG is still a ground in Sydney and one that’s close to our home ground. I think historically, it’s a fantastic venue."

    The Waratahs will wear a special Heritage jersey for Saturday’s clash against the Queensland Reds at the SCG.



    15 Bryce Hegarty, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Will Miller, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson 

    Substitutes: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Cameron Clark

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Friday, 27 April 2018
    • Hurricanes v Sunwolves, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Stormers v Rebels, Cape Town 15:05
    Saturday, 28 April 2018
    • Reds v Lions, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    • Blues v Jaguares, Eden Park 09:35
    • Brumbies v Crusaders, GIO Stadium 11:45
    • Bulls v Highlanders, Loftus Versfeld 17:15
    Friday, 04 May 2018
    • Chiefs v Jaguares, Rotorua International Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Crusaders, AAMI Park 11:45


    22 April 2018
    21 April 2018
    20 April 2018
    14 April 2018
    13 April 2018
    07 April 2018
    06 April 2018
    01 April 2018
    31 March 2018
    30 March 2018
    24 March 2018
    23 March 2018
    18 March 2018
    17 March 2018
    16 March 2018
    10 March 2018
    09 March 2018
    03 March 2018
    02 March 2018
    24 February 2018
    23 February 2018
    17 February 2018


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Who will finish top of the SA Conference in this year's Super Rugby tournament?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.