Perenara to captain Hurricanes v Waratahs

    2019-02-14 09:46

    Cape Town - Scrumhalf TJ Perenara will captain the Hurricanes in their Super Rugby opener against the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

    Kick-off is at 10:45 SA time.

    Perenara, the Hurricanes most capped No 9 with 111 appearances, will lead the side with club captain Dane Coles named on the bench.

    “Both TJ and Dane are really experienced in leading the side and we want to share the load within the squad with two exceptional individuals,” said Hurricanes head coach John Plumtree.

    Plumtree has named a starting XV that contains plenty of Super Rugby experience mixed with a couple of new Hurricanes players.

    Former Highlanders flyhalf Fletcher Smith will wear the No 10 jersey after impressing during the pre-season campaign while young Manawatu lock Liam Mitchell will make his debut in the run-on side.

    “Liam has been one player who has really taken his chances since he came into the environment,” added Plumtree.

    “The coaching group have seen just how hard he has worked and he has been rewarded with a chance to start in what we think is a pretty exciting squad.”

    Mitchell will combine in the second-row with James Blackwell who has also been a stand-out through the pre-season while 78-game veteran Chris Eves will start at loosehead prop.

    The backline is an experienced unit with Ngani Laumape and Matt Proctor combining in the midfield with a back three consisting of last season’s top try scorer Ben Lam, Vince Aso and Jordie Barrett.

    The bench is highlighted by the inclusion of Coles while there are potential Hurricanes debuts for promising prop Xavier Numia and loose forward Du’Plessis Kirifi.

    James Marshall, who won the 2016 Super Rugby title with the Hurricanes in his last appearance in New Zealand, has also been named on the bench.

    “We have collectively worked really hard over the last few months, we believe the squad is really fit and will go the distance and we just can’t wait to get out there and play,” said Plumtree.



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes

    Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Lachlan Swinton, 20 Will Miller, 21 Mitch Short, 22 Mack Mason, 23 Cam Clark


    15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Vince Aso, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Liam Mitchell, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Chris Eves

    Substitutes: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Ben May, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 James Marshall, 23 Wes Goosen

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights


    Saturday, 23 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Stormers, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Crusaders, Sydney Cricket Ground 10:45
    • Sunwolves v Lions, Singapore National Stadium 12:55
    • Bulls v Chiefs, Loftus Versfeld 15:05
    • Sharks v Rebels, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:15
    Sunday, 24 March 2019
    • Reds v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium 07:05
    Friday, 29 March 2019
    • Hurricanes v Crusaders, Westpac Stadium 08:35
    • Waratahs v Sunwolves, McDonald Jones Stadium 10:45


    Rank Team P W Pts
    • Bulls (Q)
    • Lions (wc)
    • Stormers (wc)
    • Sharks (wc)
    • Jaguares

    Opinion Poll

    Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.