PE Metro Sub Union to oppose vote of no confidence

    2016-04-22 17:01

    Cape Town - The Port Elizabeth Metro Sub Union (PEMSU) has been mandated by an overwhelming majority of their clubs to oppose the vote of no confidence in the current Eastern Province Rugby Executive during the Special General Meeting scheduled for next week.

    PEMSU chairperson, Stag Mitchell, said a special sub union meeting had been held on Wednesday, April 20, at the Pieter Rademeyer Hall in Algoa Park, to discuss the crisis situation at EPRU and to receive a mandate from their club structures in terms of what direction the sub union must take.

    “We had 27 of our 35 clubs present and engaged in two rounds of robust debate, wherein everyone was given an opportunity to put forward their views without fear or favour. Following the debate, a vote was introduced to determine the direction of the PE Metro Sub Union,” he said.

    Each club is entitled to have up to two delegates, allowing for a maximum of two votes per club.

    The results were:

    · Vote of No Confidence: Seven votes (3 clubs x 2 delegates + 1 delegate)

    · Against a Vote of No Confidence: 35 Votes (23 clubs)

    · Abstained: 1 Vote (1 club)

    Mitchell said the result was that PEMSU would vote in line with the majority of their clubs next week, and would be opposing a vote of no confidence in the current EP Rugby Union executive.

    “This was a transparent meeting where everyone was given the opportunity to present their stance in a robust and disciplined manner, with a clear and democratic mandate was given to the sub union’s executive,” he said.

    Mitchell said the clubs who were opposed to a vote of no confidence felt that maintaining the current executive would provide much needed stability to the EPRU structures.

    “The clubs also felt that this stability in leadership is needed if the SA Rugby intervention plan is to be a success, as a vote of no confidence at this critical juncture would just add more turmoil and division among the clubs at a time when calm and unity is required,” he said.

    The Port Elizabeth Sub Union is the largest of the seven sub unions that make up the Eastern Province Rugby Union, with 35 clubs in total.

    Present clubs were:

    Dragons RFC, Sunday Stars, Zwide United RFC, Morning Stars RFC, Hilltop Eagles RFC, Kwaru RFC, Park RFC, Walmer Wallabies RFC, St Marks RFC, NMMU Madibaz RFC, Glen Roses RFC, Gelvan Wallabies RFC, Windvogel United RFC, Spring Rose RFC, Crusaders RFC, FABS RFC, SAPS RFC, PE Harlequins RFC, Young Collegians RFC, Extention United RFC, Thistles RFC, Pirates RFC, Suburban RFC, Booysen Pride RFC, Gladiators RFC, St Cyprians RFC, Missionvale RFC

    Absent clubs were:

    African Bombers RFC, Eastern RFC, Helenvale United RFC, Kuyga RFC, Motherwell RFC, Scorpions RFC, Walmer Wales RFC, Union RFC

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.